

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, February 23, 2022 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 4:05 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners excused: Bharat Singh

Alternate Commissioners excused: Daniel Chesmore

Commissioners Blackwell and Crowell arrived after Item No.4

Alternate Commissioners present: None

City staff present: Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Penny Righthand Lisa Ray Carolyn Burgess Joelle Crepsac Reisa Jaffe Sheryl Walton Elizabeth Stage Sylvia Guzman Liz Zuk Alex Barake

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, February 23, 2022 Via Teleconference

A motion by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Achtenberg to move <u>Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners</u> from Agenda Item No. 4 to Agenda Item No. 3. The motion passed with ten ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens).

3. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

No disclosures from the Commissioners were made.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Phone caller ending in 1779 Liz Zuk ILM Tayo Lanelin Billie Jean

4. Resolution to Adopt Draft Map F5 as the Final Map for the Decennial Oakland Redistricting Process

The Commission discussed feedback received from public testimony including alleged public ethic violations and other matters pertaining to the vote to adopt or not to adopt Draft Map F5.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Dolu Cheryl Walton Roger Davies Keisha Henderson Mary Vail Sarah Webster Fabio Paulette Johnson Rickesha Herron Bobby Lopez Tayo Lanelin **David Peters** ILM Reisa Jaffe Carolyn Burgess Lisa Dillon Andrea Luna

Moto G Stylus

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, February 23, 2022 Via Teleconference

A motion by Tejal Shah and seconded by Shirley Gee to approve Resolution No, 22-004 to adopt Draft Map F5. The motion passed with nine ayes (Achtenberg, Gee, Goode Hamidi, Marshall, Stevens, Miller, Shah and Velosco and 3 noes (Blackwell, Crowell and Gangas).

5. Resolution to Continue Teleconference Meetings

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Tayo Lanelin ILM Mary Forte

A motion by Benjie Achtenberg and seconded Tejal Shah to continue teleconference meetings. The motion passed with eleven ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Velasco),

6. Charter Report

The Commission discussed the focus of the report and suggested a debriefing process that would consider the input of each Commissioner during the next Commission meeting. Chair Gangas suggested the debriefing process be facilitated by a third party to ensure all Commissioner comments were disseminated so she and co-vice chair could participate freely. Also, the City Attorney suggested that, in an effort to streamline the report writing process, a subcommittee be selected to write the report based on full Commission input.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Kate Joelle Crepsac ILM Mary Brooke Levin

7. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 9:30pm.