

#### **Meeting Minutes**

### Monday, December 30, 2021 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (Alternate) Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting

## 1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 5:04 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners excused: None

Alternate Commissioners present: Bharat Singh,

Alternate Commissioners excused: Daniel Chesmore

City staff present: Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

#### 2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Desmond Jeffries Roger Davies Mary Ralph Kanz Leo Kurtysh Esther Goolsby Marie Lanigan Jose Joelle Crepsac Lisa Ray Iris Merriouns

#### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Monday, December 30, 2021 Via Teleconference

# 3. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

Commissioner Gee sent an email to the council district representatives and the school district describing the selection of two maps (F3 and K3), Ms. Gee also contacted 250 organizations and provided them with same information and requested they express support for one map or the other.

Chair Gangas reported that she shared the maps and the meeting invitation with the Resilient Fruitvale Collective who in turn reached out to other organizations in East Oakland.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Iris Merriouns Mary Roger Davies Lisa Ray Arlinda Befort Doug Blackshear Jane

#### 4. Outreach Efforts Updates

Charisma Acey of Eastside Arts Alliance provided outreach highlights to the Commission since the December 13<sup>th</sup> meeting. These highlights included recognizing the need to switch the outreach strategy to create opportunities to engage the public with more in-person events. Twenty-five events were planned, including sixteen in-person events and nine virtual focusing on the importance for redistricting every 10 years and why redistricting is aligned with the release of the census data.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Roger Davies
Desmond Jeffries
Jane
Joelle Crepsac
Doug Blackshear
Jose
Mary
Ralph Kanz
Leo Kurtysh
Bobbie Lopez
Ms. Joaniinha

#### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Monday, December 30, 2021

Via Teleconference

Liz Zuk D6 Resident Melody Davis James Chiong Mary Forte Sheryl Forte Otto Oscar Yassin Iris Merriouns

## 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes

No comment was taken on this item

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Goode to approve the meeting minutes for the December 1, 2022 and December 6, 2022. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco),

A motion was made by Chair Gangas and seconded by Commissioner Shah to extend the meeting until 11pm. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco),

### 6. Public Testimony Regarding Map F3 and Map K3

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Otto

Rachel Beck

Bobbie Lopez

Allan Brill

Arlinda Befort

Lisa

James Chiong

Jeff Lawrence

KC Ramsey

**Hugh Morrison** 

Kumar

**Desmond Jeffries** 

Kate

Cheryl Walton

Ernesto Arevallo

Mary

Liz Zuk

### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Monday, December 30, 2021 Via Teleconference

Harlo

Darlene Flynn

Steven Lavoie

Margie Lewis

David Peters

Joelle Crepsac

Leo Kurtysh

Jose

Jay B

Greg Hodge

Roger Davies

Tom Baker

Mary Forte

Ms. Joaniinha

Reissa Jaffe

Arianna Cassanva

Rich Hanson

Lisa Rav

Hannah Wolf

**Evelynn Torres** 

Elizabeth Stage

Andrea Jones

Rose10

Kedar Korde

Karly Ordaz

Merika Reagan

Ester Goolsby

Karen Katz

Carla

Peter Seidl

DGrigssMurphu

Iris Merriouns

Oscar Yassin

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Marshall to extend the meeting until midnight. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and 1 abstention (McKnight)

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Shah to adopt Draft Map F3 as the final redistricting plan. The motion failed with 6 ayes

#### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Monday, December 30, 2021 Via Teleconference

(Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Marshall, Shah, Stevens) and 6 noes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Goode, Hamidi, Miller, Velasco) (McKnight was absent for this vote).

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Velasco to adopt Draft Map K3 as the final redistricting plan. The motion failed with 6 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Goode, Hamidi, Miller, Velasco), 6 noes (Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Marshall, Stevens, Shah).

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Marshall to extend the meeting to 12:30am. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and 1 abstention (McKnight)

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Shah to continue Item no. 7 to the next scheduled Redistricting Commission meeting. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

### 7. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:30am