

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, December 8, 2021 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (Alternate) Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: <u>www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting</u>

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 5:05 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioner excused: None

Commissioners Blackwell and Crowell arrived after Item No.4

Alternate Commissioners present: Bharat Singh, Daniel Chesmore (arrived after the start of the meeting)

City staff present: Richard J. Luna, Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Alex Torres Melody Scott

3. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

None

There were no public comments on this item.

4. Resolution to Continue Teleconference Meetings

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, December 8, 2021 Via Teleconference

Motion by Shirley Gee and seconded by Jan Stevens to continue teleconference meetings. The motion passed with eleven ayes (Achtenberg, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco),

There were no public comments on this item.

5. Outreach Efforts Updates

Charisma Acey of Eastside Arts Alliance provided outreach updates to the Commission, including organizations that were contacted and previous and upcoming in-person events. Ms. Acey highlighted the need for better graphics through printed material to encourage more public input including a plan to reach out to schools including virtual events to highlight final map options.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Liz Zuk Reverend Tania Scott-Smith

6. Review of Maps Submitted by the Public

Chair Ganges and the Commissioners reviewed and discussed maps submitted by the public.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: David Peters Bobby Lopez Reverend Tania Scott-Smith

No action was taken on this item.

7. Public Testimony Regarding Redistricting & Draft Map Discussion

Commissioners took public testimony prior to discussing the draft district map proposals.

The following public speakers provided public testimony: Bobby Lopez David Peters Liz Zuk Paul Bickmore Oscar Yassin Kate Shelby Zising

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, December 8, 2021 Via Teleconference

Dana Mims Marjorie Haskell Iris Merriouns Carolyn Ms. Joaninha Ralph Kanz VanCedric Williams

Commissioners Blackwell and Crowell arrived sometime after Agenda Item No. 4

Written comments were submitted by the following individuals or groups:

A motion was made by Benjie Achtenberg, seconded by Gloria Crowell, to extend the meeting until 9:00 pm. The motion passed unanimously with 13 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

Following individual Commissioner draft map preferences, a motion by Shirley Gee and seconded by Benjie Achtenberg to eliminate draft map E, draft map G and draft map J. The motion was passed unanimously with 13 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

As each Commissioner stated their preferences, a spreadsheet was created to collectively capture map criteria. Jacob Thompson-Fisher, the mapping representative from Redistricting Partners, confirmed that having mapping criteria prioritized makes it possible to convert Commissioner discussion to actionable maps and lines.

A motion was made by Benjie Achtenberg, seconded by Tracy Richmond McKnight, to extend the meeting until 10:00 pm. The motion passed unanimously with 13 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco)

A motion was made by Stephanie Goode, seconded by Benjie Achtenberg to extend the meeting until 11:00 pm. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Stevens, Velasco, Shah exited the meeting after 10pm and before 11pm).

A motion was made by Benjie Achtenberg, seconded by Stephanie Goode to extend the meeting until 12:00 pm. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell,

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, December 8, 2021 Via Teleconference

Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Stevens, Velasco, Shah exited the meeting after 10pm and before 11pm).

Jacob Thompson-Fisher began live-mapping of Commission criteria to ensure suggested mapping criteria are actionable per the Voting Rights Act and the City Charter.

A motion was made by Benjie Achtenberg, seconded by

Tracy Richmond-McKnight to extend the meeting until 1:00 am. The motion passed with 8 ayes (Achtenberg, Gangas, Goode, Hamidi, McKnight, Miller, Stevens, Velosco), 2 abstentions (Blackwell, Crowell), 2 noes (Gee, Marshall). Shah exited the meeting after 10pm and before 11pm).

Commissioners Gee, Marshall and Alternate Commissioner Chesmore exited meeting at 11:57pm.

Live mapping continued until approximately 1:15am when it was noticed Commissioner Blackwell was no longer on the Zoom call leaving only 8 Commissioners where 9 Commissioners are needed for a quorum. The meeting was paused to allow Commissioner Blackwell to return to the meeting. After approximately 10 additional minutes, Commissioner Velasco notified the Commission she would also exit the meeting.

8. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 1:30am.