

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, October 27, 2021 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (Alternate) Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: <u>www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting</u>

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 5:05 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners excused: Tracy Richmond McKnight.

Commissioners absent: Amber Blackwell

Alternate Commissioners absent: Daniel Chesmore, Bharat Singh.

City staff present: Richard J. Luna, Corey Alvin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Stuart Flashman

3. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

Commissioner Shirley Gee stated she sent the Commission's press release announcing the additional meetings to the City Council Members, School Board Directors, and other community organizations.

Chair Lilibeth Gangas stated she contacted District 3 Council Member Carroll Fife to attend an upcoming outreach event and that Commissioner Tracy Richmond McKnight would attend the event.

There were no public comments on this item.

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, October 27, 2021 Via Teleconference

4. Outreach Efforts Updates

City staff member Richard J. Luna stated the Commission held their first public workshop on Tuesday, October 26, 2021. The workshop was attended by Commissioners Achtenberg, Gee, Marshall, and McKnight, included a website demonstration and question-and-answer session with the public and the Commissioners in attendance.

Charisma Acey provided outreach updates to the Commission, including additional organizations that were contacted and upcoming in-person events where the public can learn about redistricting.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Leonora Sea Iris Merriouns

The Commission recessed between 5:42 to 6:01 pm.

5. Redistricting Testimony

A motion was made by Gloria Crowell, seconded by Stephanie Goode, to open the public hearing. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) one excused (McKnight) and one absent (Blackwell).

Commissioners took public testimony prior to discussing the draft district map proposals.

The following public speakers provided public testimony: Janani Ramachandran Susan Piper Stan Weisner Leonora Sea Elizabeth Stage Theresa Nelson Reisa Jaffee

Written comments were submitted by the following individuals or groups: Margie Lewis Sheryl Walton Susan Piper Ralph Cooke Sheryl Walton Tom Dapice Mailisha Chesney

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, October 27, 2021 Via Teleconference

Marion Mills Owen Goetze Susan Piper on behalf of the Oakland Firesafe Council Jeffrey Kahn on behalf of the Rockridge Terrace Neighborhood Association

Commissioners then engaged in a discussion of the draft maps.

Commissioner Shirley Gee recommended the Commission should reconsider Draft District Map A based on comments made by the public.

Commissioner Diana Miller stated based on the feedback received, the Commission should request a new map be created where the Oakland Hills are not contained in a single district.

Commissioner Benjie Achtenberg recommended focusing outreach efforts in District 3, specially around Broadway and Jack London Square, and in District 7 since those areas had the largest growth in population.

Commissioners then requested making changes to the exiting maps. Deputy City Attorney Mitesh Bhakta advised the Commission that changes could be requested at the next meeting as the current agenda did not notice potential changes to the current draft district maps.

A motion was made by Shirley Gee, seconded by Gloria Crowell to close the public hearing. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) one excused (McKnight) and one absent (Blackwell).

Commissioners also stated their intent to spend time at the next meeting focusing on specific areas of the draft maps, mainly where the district boundaries change from one district to another.

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:59 pm.