

#### **Meeting Minutes**

#### Wednesday, October 14, 2020 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi (Alternate), Martha Hernandez, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting

# 1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 5:08 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas (arrived at 5:16 pm), Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Martha Hernandez (arrived at 5:20 pm), Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners absent: None.

Alternate Commissioners present: Masoud Hamidi.

Alternate Commissioners absent: Daniel Chesmore.

City staff present: Richard J. Luna.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta and Jennifer Logue.

#### 2. Welcome and Introductions

Commissioners introduced themselves, providing comments about their background and experiences. Commissioners also discussed their interests in applying and volunteering to serve on the Commission.

There were no public comments on this item.

#### 3. Open Forum

There were no public comments on this item.

#### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Wednesday, October 14, 2020 Via Teleconference

# 4. Ralph M. Brown Act, Oakland Sunshine Ordinance and Open Meeting Requirements Training

Deputy City Attorney Mitesh Bhakta provided a training to the Commission on the Ralph M. Brown Act, the Oakland Sunshine Ordinance and on state and local law requirements that govern open meetings.

There were no public comments on this item.

### 5. Measure DD and City Charter Section 220 Training

City staff member Richard J. Luna provided a training on Measure DD, a ballot measure adopted by the voters in November 2014, that created City Charter Section 220 and the Oakland Redistricting Commission. Commissioners and staff engaged in a question and answer session on Charter requirements related to the Commission's work.

There were no public comments on this item.

#### 6. Selection of Chair and Vice Chair

City staff member Richard J. Luna provided a report on the duties assigned to the Chair and Vice Chair. Staff recommended a temporary Chair and Vice Chair be assigned to the Commission.

A motion was made by Shirley Gee, seconded by Benjie Achtenberg, to nominate Shirley Gee as the temporary Chair of the Commission. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Goode, Hernandez, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and one abstention (Gee).

Commissioners then discussed the role and appointment of the Vice Chair.

A second motion was made by Mary Velasco, seconded by Stephanie Goode, to nominate Benjie Achtenberg as the temporary Vice Chair of the Commission.

A substitute motion was made by Lilibeth Gangas, seconded by Amber Blackwell, to nominate Martha Hernandez as the temporary Vice Chair of the Commission.

A second substitute motion was made by Paul Marshall, seconded by Jan Stevens, to nominate Paul Marshall as the temporary Vice Chair of the Commission.

#### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Wednesday, October 14, 2020 Via Teleconference

The Commission engaged in further discussion on role of the Vice Chair and the length of appointments for both the Chair and Vice Chair. Staff stated that the Commission could also elect co-Vice Chairs.

An amendment to the second substitute motion was made by Lilibeth Gangas, seconded by Diana Miller, to nominate both Paul Marshall and Martha Hernandez as temporary co-Vice Chairs of the Commission. The amended substitute motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hernandez, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and one abstention (Marshall).

The Commission then discussed the terms for the temporary Chair and co-Vice Chairs and the possibility of a rotating schedule for the appointments.

Commissioner Gangas exited the meeting at 6:58 pm.

Commissioner Hernandez exited the meeting at 7:05 pm.

A third motion was made by Jan Stevens, seconded by Stephanie Goode, that the terms for the temporary Chair and co-Vice Chairs be three months.

A substitute motion was made by Benjie Achtenberg, seconded by Tejal Shah, that the terms of the temporary Chair and co-Vice Chairs and recommendations on a rotating schedule be referred to the Bylaws and Rules of Procedure Ad Hoc Committee. The substitute motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and two absent (Gangas, Hernandez).

There were no public comments for this item.

#### 7. Next Meeting Date and Regular Meeting Schedule

The Commission discussed staff's recommendation on scheduling a regular meeting date.

A motion was made by Tracy Richmond McKnight, seconded by Stephanie Goode, to hold regular meetings of the Commission on the second Wednesday of the month at 5:00 pm. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and two absent (Gangas, Hernandez).

The Commission discussed a need to schedule a special meeting in November due to the Veteran's Day Holiday. Chair Shirley Gee announced the meeting would tentatively take place at 5:00 pm on Thursday, November 12, 2020, pending confirmation of the Commissioners' availability.

#### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Wednesday, October 14, 2020 Via Teleconference

There were no public comments for this item.

#### 8. Ad Hoc Committee Assignments

The Commission discussed staff's recommendation on forming three ad hoc committees: Bylaws and Rules of Procedure, Consultant Selection Process and Community Outreach. Commissioners volunteered for Committee assignments and stated a need to create additional committees.

Commissioner Martha Hernandez returned to the meeting at 7:23 pm.

A motion was made by Mary Velasco, seconded by Martha Hernandez, to create a Communications Ad Hoc Committee. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Hernandez, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and one absent (Gangas).

The Commissioners continued to volunteer for ad hoc committee assignments. The following assignments were announced:

Bylaws and Rules of Procedure: Gee, McKnight.

Consultant Selection Process: Hernandez, Marshall, Stevens.

Community Outreach: Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Miller.

Communications: Goode, Shah, Velasco.

There were no public comments on this item.

# 9. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:45 pm.