

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday March 9, 2022

Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 5:09 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners absent: Lilibeth Gangas

Alternate Commissioners present:

Alternate Commissioners excused: Daniel Chesmore

City staff present: Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Ralph Kanz Elaine Grinnold Paulette Johnson Andrea Luna ILM

3. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

ILM

4. Approval of Meeting Minutes

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday March 9, 2022 Via Teleconference

No Public Comment was taken on this item

A motion was made by Commissioner Marshall and seconded by Commissioner Miller to approve the meeting minutes for the Commission meetings of December 8, 2021, December 13, 2021 and February 23, 2022 with the understanding that Staff will make corrections to mis-spelled commissioner names. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Singh, Steven, Velasco).

5. Staff Update on Remaining Consultant Budget

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

ILM Andrea Luna

6. Commissioner Debriefing and Charter Report Discussion

Lilibeth Gangas entered the meeting.

The Commission discussed next steps in the debriefing and Charter Report writing process.

A motion was made by Commissioner Goode and seconded Commissioner Gangas to extend the meeting until 9 pm. The motion passed with 7 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Goode, Velasco, Miller, Shah, Gangas) and 2 noes (Gee, Singh) and 1 abstention (Marshall).

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Moto G Stylus ILM

A motion was made by Commissioner Gangas and seconded by Blackwell to direct the sub-committees to de-brief based on input received by the Commission and to report back to the Commission in two weeks with facilitation pending budget and to invite Darlene to present an equity analysis. The motion passed with 8 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Miller, Shah, Velasco) and 1 abstention (Marshall)

7. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 8 pm.