

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, February 8, 2022 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (Alternate) Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 4:05 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (alternate), Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners excused: Lilibeth Gangas

Alternate Commissioners present: Daniel Chesmore, Bharat Singh

Alternate Commissioners excused:

City staff present: Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Marjorie Haskell Mary Forte Barbara Kluger Sandra B Tayo Lanahin Ralph Kanz James Chiong

3. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Cheryl Walton

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Tuesday February 8, 2022Via Teleconference

Gwen Knighton Ralph Kanz Iris Merriouns

4. Fill Commissioner Vacancy

The Commission voted to replace Commissioner Tracy Richmond-McKnight, who resigned on January 27, 2022, with an Alternate Commissioner. The selected Alternate Commissioner became a voting member of the Commission effective immediately.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers

Ralph Kanz Gwen Knighton Iris Merriouns Kate Reisa Jaffe

A motion was made by Commissioner Gee and seconded by Commissioner Marshall to select alternate Commissioner Chesmore to fill the current Commissioner vacancy. The motion failed with 4 ayes (Gee, Marshall, Miller, Shah) and 6 noes (Achtenberg, Crowell Goode, Hamidi, Stevens, Velasco).

A motion was made by Commissioner Goode and seconded by Commissioner Velasco to select alternate Commissioner Singh to fill the current Commissioner vacancy. The motion passed with 7 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Goode, Miller, Stevens, Velasco), 1 no (Shah) and 3 abstentions (Gee, Hamidi, Marshall)

5. Discussion to Update Rules and Procedure

The Commissioners discussed a proposed update to the Commission's rules and procedures related to public comment and agenda organization.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Reisa Jaffe Sheryl Walton Ralph Kanz Deleign Thompson Roger Davies Oscar Yassin Iris Merriouns Paulette Johnson Mary Vail

CITY OF OAKLAND REDISTRICTING COMMISSION (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Tuesday February 8, 2022Via Teleconference

Joelle Crepsac

Commissioner Stevens exited the meeting.

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Achtenberg to postpone action on item 5 to a later date. The motion passed with 10 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Singh, Velasco)

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 5:50 pm.