

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (Alternate) Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: <u>www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting</u>

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 4:09 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners absent: Paul Marshall (Arrived after roll call), Tracy Richmond McKnight

Alternate Commissioners present: Daniel Chesmore

Alternate Commissioners excused: Bharat Singh

City staff present: Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell seconded by Commissioner Stevens to move agenda Item No. 2 Open Forum to after Item No. 5. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

2. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

Commissioner Achtenberg disclosed that he received from a community-based organization and the Alameda Labor Council regarding opinions about the draft maps and other expressed suggestions. Commissioner Achtenberg mentioned he did not respond except to let them know he would share their comments with the Commission.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Ralph Kanz

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Via Teleconference

Eden Silva David Peters Kate Iris Merriouns

3. Resolution to Continue Teleconferencing Meetings

Public comments were provided by the following speakers

Iris Merriouns Roger Davies Carla Guerra

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Gee to continue teleconferencing Redistricting Commission meetings. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

4. Public Testimony and Commissioner Proposals Regarding Final Maps Draft F3

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Carla Guerra Stuart Fleishman Liz Zuk Jose Resuleo **Roger Davies** Shervl Walton Leeane Alameda Kate Margie Lewis Sylvia Eden Silva Penny Righthand Leanna Molina **B** Boyer Josie Camacho Matt Davies Allan Brill Peter Welch D6 Resident Kenneth Tang James Chiong

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Via Teleconference

Graham Donavan Deleign Thompson Kate Valeriew Lisa Ray RJ Dyer Oscar Yassin Mary Vail Rickesha (Eastmount Neighborhood District) Art Clark Jean Quan Floyd Yuen Melody Davis Damian Scott

Commissioner McKnight entered the meeting after Item 4 began.

A motion was made by Commissioner Goode and seconded by Commissioner Miller to extend the meeting until 11:00 pm. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

Commissioner McKnight exited the meeting during live mapping.

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Marshall to extend the meeting until midnight. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Janet Austin Tam Matt Hummel Elba Moralas Liz Zuk Jose Resuleo Paulette Johnson Roger Davies Keisha Henderson Cheryl Fabio Floyd Huen Oscar Yassin Evelyn

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Via Teleconference

Alex **RJ** Dver D6 Resident Bobbie Lopez Cloe Leduc **Rockridge Community Planning Council** Kate Iris Merriouns Harlo Pippenger Elizabeth Stage Mary Riesa Jaffe Lisa Z Joelle Crepsac **B** Boyer Tony Collins James Chiong Mrs. West Arianna Casonova Kate S Otto Clarissa Doutherd Jasmine Avina Sheryl Walton Gwen Knighton Doug Blackshear

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Gee to extend the meeting until 12:30 am. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

A motion was made by Commissioner Velasco and seconded by Commissioner Miller to extend the meeting until 1 am. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

A motion was made by Commissioner Gee and seconded by Commissioner Shah to extend the meeting until 1:30 am. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

A motion was made by Commissioner Gee and seconded by Commissioner Shah to approve the changes to Draft Map F4 creating Draft Map F5 that is currently presented and that will include the Coliseum in District 6 and not District 7. The motion passed

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Via Teleconference

with 9 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and 3 noes (Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas)

5. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Joelle Crepsac Mrs. West Doug Blackshear Oscar Yassin Cheryl Walton Lisa Z Riesa Jaffe Liz Zuk Cheryl Fabio D6 resident Cloe Leduc Kate Iris Merrioums Gwen Knighton MV Watson

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 1:30 am.