

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 19, 2022 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (Alternate) Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 4:06 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners absent: Amber Blackwell, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall (entered meeting at 5:09)

Alternate Commissioners present: None

Alternate Commissioners excused: Daniel Chesmore, Bharat Singh

City staff present: Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

A motion by Commissioner Shah seconded by Commissioner Miller to move agenda Item No. 2 Open Forum to after Item No. 5. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Shah, Stevens, Velasco, Miller, Gangas).

2. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

No disclosures were made by the Commissioners

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Gail Wallace Ikeena Hardman Liz Zuk Kenneth Tam

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, January 19, 2021 Via Teleconference

3. Presentation by Darlene Flynn, Director of the Department of Race and Equity

Darlene Flynn presented data used to evaluate the City's equity status including Department of Transportation's equity data tool.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

David Peters

Liz Zuk

Lisa Z

Reisa Jaffe

Leana Molina

Assata Olugbala

Bobbie Lopez

Oscar Yassin

Mary Pezzuto

Iris Merriouns

Roger Davies

Nia Smith

Carolyn Burgess

Mary Ellen Navas

Billie Jean

Julia Marks

James Chiong

Arianna Casonova

Commissioner Hamidi and Commissioner Blackwell entered the meeting after Item No. 2

A motion by Commissioner Goode seconded by Commissioner McKnight to extend the meeting until 10:00 pm. The motion passed with 13 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Shah, Stevens, Velasco, Miller, Gangas).

4. Public Testimony and Commissioner Proposals Regarding Final Maps Draft F3

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

West Oakland Cultural Action Network

Nick Piltch

Lisa Ray

Roger Davies

Jean Quan

Tom Baker

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, January 19, 2021 Via Teleconference

Reissa Jaffe Cheryl Fabio Liz Zuk Joelle Crepsac Leo Jane Sanchez Evelvn James Chiong Tu Smith Jeannie Gerard Oscar Yassin Eka Schneider Sheryl Walton D6 Resident Matt Davies Otto David Mary D Scott Wintner Alvina Wong Jonah Gottlieb Tom Collins Valerie Iris Merriouns Paulette Johnson Harlo Elizabeth Stage Leonara Cee Arianna Casonova Bobbie Lopez

A motion by Commissioner Crowell seconded by Commissioner Miller to extend the meeting until 11:00 pm. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) and one abstention (Hamidi).

A motion by Commissioner Gee and seconded by Commissioner Crowell to continue with Map #100924 presented by Chair Gangas and to consider modifications to this map with deference to Map #100796 presented by Commissioner Goode. The motion failed with 5 ayes (Blackwell, Crowell, Gee, McKnight, and Gangas) and 6 noes (Achtenberg, Goode, Marshall, Miller, Shah Velasco) and one abstention (Stevens).

A motion by Commissioner Achtenberg and seconded by Commissioner Miller to use Commissioner Goode's Map #100796 to modify Draft Map F3 with deference to

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, January 19, 2021 Via Teleconference

Commissioner Gangas' Map #100924 to modify Draft Map F3. The motion passed with 10 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Stevens, Velasco) one abstention (Crowell).

A motion by Commissioner Marshall seconded by Commissioner Gee to extend the meeting until 12:00 am. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco).

A motion by Commissioner McKnight seconded by Commissioner Goode to extend the meeting until 12:30 am. The motion passed with 9 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Shah, Stevens) and one abstention (Miller).

A motion by Commissioner Goode seconded by Commissioner McKnight to pause live mapping and identify Draft Map F4 for further consideration and would be publicly accessible for the next Commission meeting and to extend the meeting until 12:45 am. The motion passed with 9 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Gangas, Gee, Goode, Marshall, McKnight, Shah, Stevens).

5. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Bobbie Lopez
Roger Davies
Leo
Mary
Liz Zuk
Lisa Z
Iris Merriouns
Oscar Yassin
Tu Smith
Joelle Crepsac

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:45am.