

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 5, 2022 Via Teleconference

Redistricting Commissioners: Benjie Achtenberg, Amber Blackwell, Daniel Chesmore (Alternate), Gloria Crowell, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Bharat Singh (Alternate) Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commission website: www.oaklandca.gov/redistricting

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 5:05 pm.

Commissioners present: Benjie Achtenberg, Lilibeth Gangas, Shirley Gee, Stephanie Goode, Masoud Hamidi, Paul Marshall, Tracy Richmond McKnight, Diana Miller, Tejal Shah, Jan Stevens, and Mary Velasco.

Commissioners excused: Amber Blackwell and Co-Vice Chair Tejal Shah

Alternate Commissioners present: Daniel Chesmore

Alternate Commissioners excused: Bharat Singh

City staff present: Corey Alvin, Felicia Verdin.

City Attorney staff present: Mitesh Bhakta.

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

James Vann
Liz Zuk
David Peters
Andreas Jimenez
Helen Duffy
Emily Wheeler
Liz Ortega
James Chiong
Ralph Kanz
Greg Hodge
Bobby Lopez
Josh Frank

Matt Davies

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, December 13, 2021 Via Teleconference

Paulina Gonzalas Leo Kurtysh Alchemy Griffin Alina Wong Jose Matt Hummel Ernesto Carla Jennie Gerrard Mary Nick Piltch Mary Vail Tom Baker Assata Olugbata Elizabeth Stage MV Watson Iris Merriouns Stephanie

A motion by Chair Gangas seconded by Gloria Crowell to move agenda Item No. 7 ahead of Item No. 6. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Stevens, Velasco, Miller and Gangas).

A motion by Shirley Gee and seconded by Gloria Crowell to retain the Chair and Co-Vice Chairs for the current quarter. The motion passed with 12 ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell, Gee, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, McKnight, Stevens, Velasco, Miller and Gangas)

3. Disclosure Requirements by Commissioners

Alternate Commissioner Chesmore (Entered the meeting during Agenda Item #2) spoke with a mayoral candidate and expressed support for her candidacy.

There were no public comments on this item.

4. Outreach Efforts Updates

Charisma Acey of Eastside Arts Alliance provided outreach updates to the Commission since the December 8th meeting. In-person events occurred at the West Oakland Youth Center and Allen Temple Church. Eastside Arts Alliance continued to share outreach strategies to people on their mailing list. Ms. Acey expressed that in-person outreach was necessary to reach people who are traditionally considered hard to reach and to people who feel their voices have not been heard.

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, December 13, 2021 Via Teleconference

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Cheryl Walton Oscar Yassin Brooke Levin David Peters Carla Guerra Iris Merriouns Ralph Kanz

5. Oakland Rising Presentation

A motion by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Shah to reduce the presentation time by Oakland Rising to five minutes. The motion passed with nine ayes (Achtenberg, Crowell. Gangas Gee, Goode, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Velasco) and one no (Hamidi) and one abstention (Stevens).

Liz Zuk removed her presentation from the agenda.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:

Cheryl Walton
Mary Forte
Bonnie Hamil
Darrel Stewart
Doug Blackshear
Tom Baker
Victoria Figg
Karly Ordaz
Ms. Joaninha
Oscar Yassin
Eleanor
Otto
Chris Do

Chris Do Jose Guzman Elizabeth Stage Mary Ellen Navas Iris Merrioums Fire Table Anne Chef Jodie Smith

William R. Randolf

Mrs. West

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, December 13, 2021 Via Teleconference

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by Commissioner Crowell and seconded by Commissioner Goode to extend the meeting until 9pm. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Gangas, Gee (excused at 9pm), Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco), Crowell lost connectivity during the vote.

6. Commissioner Map Priorities

Redistricting Partner representative Jacob Thompson-Fisher described verbally and graphically how Commissioner criteria priority was captured on draft map F, draft map K and draft map H and answered specific questions from the Commission regarding their map priorities.

Commissioner Blackwell entered the meeting.

A motion was made to extend the meeting to 10pm by Commissioner Velasco and seconded by Commissioner Stevens. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco) one abstention (Gee, excused at 9pm)

Alternate Commissioner Chesmore entered the meeting and exited shortly after.

The following public speakers provided public testimony:

David Peters

Nick

Otto

Oscar Yassin

Phil Dowd

Kate

Malisha Chesney

Tom Baker

Harlo

Marjorie Haskell

Karla Guerra

Paulette Johnson

Carolyn

Tania Dumas

Ralph Kanz

Mrs. West

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, December 13, 2021 Via Teleconference

7. Public Testimony Regarding Redistricting and Draft Map Discussion

A motion was made by Commissioner Achtenberg and seconded by Commissioner Goode to extend the meeting to 11pm. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco)

The following public speakers provided public testimony:

Reisa Jaffe Lisa Z Liz Zuk Carolyn Burgess

The Commissioners reviewed maps created by the public uploaded to Districtr. Redistricting Partner representative Jacob Thompson-Fisher evaluated these maps by district for viability also engaged in live draft mapping.

A motion was made by Commissioner Goode and seconded by Commissioner Hamidi to extend the meeting until 12pm. The motion passed with 10 eyes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Stevens, Velasco) and one abstention (Shah).

Jacob Thompson-Fisher continued with live mapping of draft maps

A motion was made by Commissioner Achtenberg and seconded by Commissioner Velasco to eliminate all maps except K3 and F3. The motion passed with 11 ayes (Achtenberg, Blackwell, Crowell, Gangas, Goode, Hamidi, Marshall, Miller, Shah, Stevens, Velasco)

8. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately Midnight.