

# OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL TOWN HALL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL

June 8, 2020 6:00 PM

# Oakland Police Department Response to First Amendment Assemblies and Peaceful Demonstrations, Review of Applicable Department Policies and Procedures

#### I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 6:01 pm.

#### II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson, José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Lloyd Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown (arrived during item VIII) and David Jordan

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

III. Panel Presentation: Lateefah Simon President, BART Board of Directors; Akil Riley and Xavier Brown, Organizers of Youth March; and John Jones, III, Community Advocate Panelists discussed first amendment assemblies and peaceful demonstrations and the related OPD policies and procedures.

### IV. Community Roundtable/Open Forum

The Community Roundtable discussion served to gather testimony on the traumas that the community is feeling during the pandemic and recent demonstrations.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Ava Agree

Samuel Getachew

Nadja Goldberg

Katerina Gaines

Will Skinner

**David Nutt** 

Natalie Cerullo

**Eden Foley** 

Gene Hazzard

Chadini Gaur

Daijah Conerly

Arieana Castellanos

Rabi'a Keeble

Michael Cooper

Ester Kang

Vladimir Jornitski

**David Long** 

Jayce Wong

Ashley Greenwood

Shawn Lee

Michael Tigges

Adoley Ammah-Tagoe

Speaker did not identify themselves

**Abner Howkey** 

Effie (no last name given)

Phi (no last name given)

Jennifer Tu (no last name given)

Pavan (no last name given)

Sara Grieb

Hana Yoshimoto

**Gokce Sencan** 

Rachel Holmstrom

**Grace Shafer Perry** 

**Ilaf Esuf** 

A.S. Ikeda

Carson Lamb

**Andrew Morales** 

Aiano Nakagawa

Tara O'Flaherty

Brenna Woods Fitzpatrick

**Lorae Fernandis** 

Joanna Arenstein

Christopher Merchant

Mahsa Ashabi

Mariam El Magrissy

Eva (no last name given)

Mr. Holmes

Dan Riesenbach

**Adrian Fuentes** 

Victoria Steffes

Assata Olugbala

Amelia McGowan

**Aminah Hanif** 

**Holly Wilson** 

Sen Mendez

Alec Uebersohn

John Lindsey-Poland

OPD Deputy Chief LeRonne Armstrong delivered a presentation and responded to some questions that were raised.

Rachel Lederman, a legal observer with the National Lawyers Guild, offered a brief testimony on traumas caused by primarily by uses of force during recent demonstrations.

Jim Chanin, an attorney and member of the Police Commission Selection Panel, offered a presentation.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Edwina Baier

Debra Nelson

Idris (no last name given)

Maria Zamudio

Daniel Chan

BillyJene Carter

Serena Lim

Txana Wukong

Annelise Dohrer

Carmen (no last name given)

Ivy Limieux

Analaura Castrovaldivia

Alan Marling

**Anicia Santos** 

Trent Hanible

Rebecca Ruiz

Reisa Jaffe

Megan (no last name given)

**Kelan Thomas** 

Cathy Leonard

Em Juneau

**Brooke Daily** 

Jennifer Li

Speaker identified as DefundOPD

Speaker identified as OakYam

Dolores Tejada

Muki Barkan

Valeria (no last name given)

Analyssa Avalos

Mark Nystrom

Shil Sinha

Carla Pena

Erica Hruby

# V. Consideration of Request for Information to OPD

Chair Regina Jackson noted that the Commission has requested a report on the OPD response to the demonstrations to be received by July 15, 2020 and that the Commission will review the Department's crowd control policy.

No public comments were provided on this item.

No action was taken on this item.

# VI. Adjournment

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Tara Anderson, to adjourn the meeting at 10:22 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0