

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL BUDGET HEARING MINUTES - FINAL

June 18, 2020 6:30 PM

I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 6:31 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson (arrived late), José Dorado, Ginale Harris (arrived late), Regina Jackson, and Edwin Prather. Alternate Commissioners Brown and Jordan were designated as voting members to establish quorum and begin the meeting.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan

Commissioners Excused: Henry Gage, III and Thomas Lloyd Smith

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy and Nitasha Sawhney

III. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum/Public Comment (this item was taken after item IV)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Gabriela O.

Maryan Khademi

Dean Welliver

Kyle Garrett

Carey McCray

Jeannine

Nicholas Elizabeth Faby

Rebecca Ruiz

Joe Miler

Tova

Sameena Usman

Daniel Robelo

Kevin Cantu

Reba Hsu

Edward Liptzin

Grace Iyer

Laura Bekes

Justin deWolfe

Erica Morse

Sharmini Subramanian

Shil Sinha

Rafa J.

Natalie Lyons

Kalya

Sangeeta Sarkar

Anne Spevak

Jasmine Fallstich

Anne Janks

Alyssa Michaels

Emily

Britt R.

Allie Bock

Bella Cooper

Jenifer Tu

Conor Carroll

Benjamin Norris

T.K.

Zoe Sandoval

Bex Hicks

Sonja Goetsch-Avila

Esther Tsvayg

Evelyn Hunter

Caitlin Tulloch

Yuri C.

Shawn Lee

Speaker identified as MPH

Amanda Machado

Cherri Murphy

Ruby Strandlund

Alan Marling

Megan S.

Anand Kalra

Ashley Greenwood

Rachel Holmstrom

Elena Eimert

Katy Kondo

Samantha Rogers

Gene Hazzard

Anna Krasner

Phi Tran

Tasha Mente

Travis Moy

Naomi

Anne Mavromatis

Yoana Tchoukleva

Sara Brown

Benjamin Lee

Gabriel
Tom Heinan
Will Brotherson
Erin Wingo
Meredith
Gloria Jimenez Moran
Hannah
Sheyda Aboii
Michael Connolly

A motion was made by Tara Anderson, seconded by Edwin Prather, to extend the meeting to midnight. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Jackson, and Prather

No: Harris

Robert Meraz

Mish

AJ Pluss

Alex Hanna

Raleigh Drennon

Steve Krause

Kelly Ding

John Lindsay-Poland

Cory Dostie

Ellie H.

Felicity

E.Z.

Catherine Monahon

Zoe Levitt

Adrianna Delgadillo

Courtney Morris

Mariano Rossetti

Brittnee Jones

Christopher Ahlbach

Izzy

Asha Vora

Sarah Grieb

C.C.W.

A second motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Tara Anderson, to send a letter to the City Council with the recommendation to adopt reforms that divert funds to communities of color and replace police presence in nonviolent, noncriminal situations with social workers, non-profit organizations, homeless outreach workers, and other unarmed individuals with specialized training,

and that the City Council a plan to remove the Oakland Police Department from all noncriminal calls. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Jackson, and Prather

No: Harris

A third motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to demand that OPD come to the June 25th Police Commission meeting with a Department General Order that states that they will not use military weapons such as chemical weapons, rubber bullets, and militarized vehicles against unarmed citizens. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harris, Jackson, and Prather

No: 0

A fourth motion was made by Tara Anderson, seconded by Regina Jackson, to support reallocating funds from Internal Affairs to CPRA to create more equity in oversight and accountability. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harris, Jackson, and Prather

No: 0

IV. Hearing on the Oakland Police Department Budget and Action on Recommendations to City Council (this item was taken ahead of item III)

The Commission discussed the Oakland Police Department budget. Interim Chief Manheimer, Deputy Chief Armstrong, and Chief Information Officer Andrew Peterson responded to requests from the Commission.

No public comments were provided on this item.

No action was taken on this item.

V. Adjournment

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Tara Anderson, to adjourn the meeting at 11:52 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harris, Jackson, and Prather

No: 0