

CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, August 12, 2020 Via Teleconference

Selection Panel Members: Gay Plair Cobb (At Large), Don Link (District 1), James Chanin (District 2), *Vacant* (District 3), Lorelei Bosserman (District 4), Mary Vail (District 5), Braunz Courtney (District 6), Bill Thomasson (District 7), and Brendalynn Goodall (Mayor).

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 6:01 pm.

Members present: Lorelei Bosserman, James Chanin, Gay Plair Cobb, Brendalynn

Goodall, Don Link, Bill Thomasson and Mary Vail.

Members absent: Braunz Courtney

Staff present: Richard J. Luna

City Attorney Staff present: Harveen Gill

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers:
Gene Hazzard
Cathy Leonard
Michelle Anzanello
Megan Steffen
Assata Olugbala
Saleem Bey
Michael Tigges

There were no written comments submitted to the Selection Panel.

ACTION ITEMS

3. Approval of Selection Panel Meeting Minutes

No action was taken on this item as the meeting minutes of July 30, 2020, August 3, 2020, and August 4, 2020, were approved on August 10, 2020.

There were no public comments on this item.

CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, August 12, 2020 Via Teleconference

4. Second Round Interview Process

No action was taken on this item as previous actions were taken on August 10, 2020.

There were no public comments on this item.

5. Interview Schedule and Final Determination of Nominees

The Selection Panel interviewed Police Commission applicants Jesse Hsieh and Sergio Garcia.

The Selection Panel recessed from 7:58 pm to 8:10 pm.

Selection Panel Members discussed each applicant interviewed in the second round and discussed the race/ethnicity composition of the current Police Commission.

Selection Panel Members casted their votes for the final applicants as follows:

Last Name	First Name	Total Votes	Voting Members
Garcia	Sergio	7	Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Link,
			Thomasson, Vail
Singleton	Tyfahra	4	Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall
Farmer	Omar	2	Thomasson, Vail
Hauck	Brian	1	Link
Hsieh	Jesse	0	

The Selection Panel discussed candidates Tyfahra Singleton and Omar Farmer, and Chairperson James Chanin stated the Selection Panel could reconsider votes casted for the applicants.

Public comments were provided at this time by the following speakers:

Megan Steffen

Omar Farmer

Assata Olugbala

Gene Hazzard

A motion was made by Lorelei Bosserman, seconded by Don Link, to nominate Sergio Garcia to the Police Commission. Motion passed with seven ayes (Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Link, Thomasson, Vail).

CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Wednesday, August 12, 2020 Via Teleconference

A second motion was made by Lorelei Bosserman, seconded by Gay Plair Cobb, to nominate Tyfahra Singleton to the Police Commission. Motion passed with six ayes (Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Link, Vail) and one no (Thomasson).

Chairperson James Chanin read the names of the six applicants in the Reserve Pool, which are: Jesse Hshieh, Omar Farmer, Brian Hauck, Art Blacksher, Darnell Hammock, and Theodore Johnson.

The Selection Panel then discussed when to hold its next meeting.

A third motion was made by Lorelei Bosserman, seconded by Mary Vail, for the Selection Panel to meet in September or October to discuss its interview process. The motion failed with two ayes (Bosserman, Vail) two noes (Chanin, Thomasson) and three abstentions (Cobb, Goodall, Link).

City staff member Richard J. Luna stated the next steps for the two nominees in conducting background checks and a timeline for scheduling to the City Council for confirmation by October 6, 2020.

A fourth motion was made by Brendalynn Goodall, seconded by Lorelei Bosserman, for the Selection Panel to meet early next year to debrief and evaluate its selection process. A friendly amendment made by Don Link was accepted to specify the meeting will be held in February 2021. The motion passed with seven ayes (Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Link, Thomasson, Vail).

Public comments were provided at this time by the following speakers:
Assata Olugbala
Mariano Contreras
Joseph Mente
Megan Steffen
Gene Hazzard
Cathy Leonard

6. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:37 pm.