

CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes

Thursday, July 29, 2021 Via Teleconference

Selection Panel Members: Gay Plair Cobb (At Large), Don Link (District 1), James Chanin (District 2), Langston Buddenhagen (District 3), Lorelei Bosserman (District 4), Mary Vail (District 5), Rickisha Herron (District 6), Bill Thomasson (District 7), and Brendalynn Goodall (Mayor).

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 6:16 pm.

Members present: Lorelei Bosserman, Langston Buddenhagen, James Chanin, Gay Plair Cobb, Brendalynn Goodall, Rickisha Herron, Don Link, Bill Thomasson, and Mary Vail.

Staff present: Richard J. Luna

City Attorney Staff present: Allison Dibley

2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Michele Lazaneo Rashidah Grinage Assata Olugbala

3. Selection Panel Deliberations of Police Commission Applicants

Chairperson James Chanin first announced that the Selection Panel would consider the two candidates that scored the highest in the latest round of voting: Angela Jackson-Castain and Rudolph Howell. Chairperson Chanin announced that he would be supporting Rudolph Howell and that Member Don Link would be supporting Angela Jackson-Castain.

Selection Panel Members held a discussion on the top two candidates and indicated their voting preferences.

A motion was made by Gay Plair Cobb, seconded by Lorelei Bosserman, to nominate Rudolph Howell as an Oakland Police Commissioner. The motion passed with six ayes (Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Vail) and three noes (Buddenhagen, Link, Thomasson).

Selection Panel Members then discussed forming a new reserve pool from the three remaining finalists.

CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Thursday, July 29, 2021 Via Teleconference

A second motion was made by Lorelei Bosserman, seconded by Brendalynn Goodall, to add Angela Jackson-Castain into the Selection Panel's reserve pool. The motion passed with nine ayes (Bosserman, Buddenhagen, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson, Vail).

A third motion was made by Bill Thomasson, seconded by Langston Buddenhagen, to add Jose Dorado into the Selection Panel's reserve pool. The motion passed with seven ayes (Buddenhagen, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson), one no (Bosserman) and one abstention (Vail).

A fourth motion was made by Gay Plair Cobb, seconded by Bill Thomasson, to add Ginale Harris into the Selection Panel's reserve pool. The motion passed with six ayes (Buddenhagen, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Link, Thomasson) and three noes (Bosserman, Herron, Vail).

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Elise Bernstein Fallah Bandabaila Michele Lazaneo

4. Approval of Selection Panel Meeting Minutes

A motion was made by Gay Plair Cobb, seconded by Don Link, to approve the meeting minutes for June 30, 2021, July 7, 2021, and July 15, 2021. A friendly amendment made by Mary Vail was accepted to approve the meeting minutes for June 30, 2021. The motion passed with eight ayes (Bosserman, Buddenhagen, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson) and one abstention (Vail).

A second motion was made by Gay Plair Cobb, seconded by Bill Thomasson, to approve the meeting minutes for July 7, 2021 and July 15, 2021. The motion passed with nine ayes (Bosserman, Buddenhagen, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson, Vail).

There were no public comments on this item.

5. Selection Process & Nomination Improvements

Selection Panel Members then discussed the need to form an Ad Hoc Committee that could review the recommendations submitted by the Reimagining Public Safety Taskforce and to consider other improvements to its nomination process.

CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

Meeting Minutes (Continued)

Thursday, July 29, 2021 Via Teleconference

A motion was made by Lorelei Bosserman, seconded by Mary Vail, to form an Ad Hoc Committee to review recommendations and offer improvements to the Selection Panel's nomination process. The motion passed with nine ayes (Bosserman, Buddenhagen, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson, Vail).

After discussion it was announced that Members Lorelei Bosserman, Mary Vail and Rickisha Herron would serve on the Ad Hoc Committee, and that the Committee would report back on its recommendations when the Selection Panel reconvenes to begin the 2022 nomination period.

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Assata Olugbala

6. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 pm.