

### CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

## **Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday, June 30, 2021 Via Teleconference

Via Teleconference

Selection Panel Members: Gay Plair Cobb (At Large), Don Link (District 1), James Chanin (District 2), Langston Buddenhagen (District 3), Lorelei Bosserman (District 4), Mary Vail (District 5), Rickisha Herron (District 6), Bill Thomasson (District 7), and Brendalynn Goodall (Mayor).

# 1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Quorum was determined and the meeting started at 6:18 pm.

Members present: Lorelei Bosserman, James Chanin, Gay Plair Cobb, Brendalynn Goodall, Rickisha Herron (arrived at 6:58 pm), Don Link, and Bill Thomasson.

Members excused: Langston Buddenhagen, Mary Vail.

Staff present: Richard J. Luna

City Attorney Staff present: Allison Dibley

## 2. Open Forum

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Maria Navarro Saleem Bey Assata Olugbala John Bey

## 3. Approval of Selection Panel Meeting Minutes

A motion was made by Brendalynn Goodall, seconded by Don Link, to approve the meeting minutes of June 17, 2021. The motion passed with six ayes (Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Link, Thomasson), one not present (Herron) and two excused (Buddenhagen, Vail).

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Saleem Bey

## 4. 2021 Police Commissioner Applicant Candidate Statements

The Selection Panel heard candidate statements from the following applicants wishing to serve on the Police Commission:

#### CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

Wednesday, June 30, 2021 Via Teleconference

- Mark Lindquist
- Cseneca Parker
- Kumar Vedantham
- Joey Harrison
- Ginale Harris
- Cynthia Chase
- Sokhom Mao
- Angela Jackson-Castain
- Claudette Hill
- Jesse Smith
- Samantha Jo-Dato
- Jose Dorado
- Lesley Latham
- Rudolph Howell

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey Rashidah Grinage

There was no action on this item.

## 5. Police Commissioner Nomination Process

The Selection Panel discussed the number of candidates that should advance to the interview stage of the nomination process.

A motion was made by Bill Thomasson, seconded by Gay Plair Cobb, to advance six candidates to the next steps of the nomination process. A friendly amendment made by Don Link was accepted to provide some flexibility should the Selection Panel decide to consider more than six candidates advancing in the process. The motion passed with seven ayes (Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson) and two excused (Buddenhagen, Vail).

The Selection Panel then discussed whether to vote on the candidates advancing to the interview stage during the meeting or if Members needed more time to review notes and candidate applications prior to making their selections. After further discussion, Chairperson James Chanin stated Selection Panel Members will submit their top six candidates to City staff by 10:00 am on Friday, July 2, 2021. It was announced that staff would tally the votes and include the rankings in the next agenda packet. Additionally, it was announced that interviews would take place on Thursday, July 15, 2021, and be for 30 minutes each.

#### CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL (SPECIAL MEETING)

#### **Meeting Minutes (Continued)**

### Wednesday, June 30, 2021 Via Teleconference

The Selection Panel requested to discuss the following items at their next meeting on July 7, 2021: Standardizing questions to ask during reference checks, and potential edits to the applicant evaluation tool and questions asked during the interviews.

A second motion was made by Lorelei Bosserman, seconded by Gay Plair Cobb, to set the 2022 application deadline as May 16, 2022. The motion passed with six ayes (Bosserman, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson), one abstention (Chanin) and two excused (Buddenhagen, Vail).

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Saleem Bey Assata Olugbala Elise Bernstein

## 6. Rules of Procedure

Member Don Link presented the proposed Rules of Procedure that the Ad Hoc Committee comprised of Gay Plair Cobb, Brendalynn Goodall, and Link drafted for the Selection Panel's consideration.

A motion was made by Don Link, seconded by Brendalynn Goodall, to adopt the Rules of Procedure for the Selection Panel. The motion passed with seven ayes (Bosserman, Chanin, Cobb, Goodall, Herron, Link, Thomasson) and two excused (Buddenhagen, Vail).

Public comments were provided by the following speakers: Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey

### 7. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:23 pm.