

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES - FINAL

July 9, 2020 6:30 PM

I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 6:31 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Henry Gage, III, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and

Thomas Lloyd Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan

Commissioners Excused: Tara Anderson and José Dorado

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy and Nitasha Sawhney

III. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Megan Steffan

Lorelei Bosserman

William Chorneau

Kevin Cantu

Nicole Welch

Allysa Victory

Assata Olugbala

Cathy Leonard

Michael Tigges

Ashley

IV. Update from Interim Police Chief

OPD Interim Chief Manheimer provided an update on Department activities including crime statistics.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

William Chorneau

Reisa Jaffe

Kevin Cantu

Joseph Mente

Assata Olugbala

Megan Steffan

Anne Janks

Terri McWilliams Kenneth W. Cathy Leonard

No action was taken on this item.

V. Commission and CPRA Audits (this item was not discussed)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Rashidah Grinage

Cathy Leonard

Ashley

No action was taken on this item.

VI. CPRA/Commission Staff/Inspector General Reorganization

The Commission voted to adopt the Personnel Committee's motion to reorganize passed on July 1, 2020.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Juanito Rus

Michael Tigges

Anne Janks

Assata Olugbala

Rashidah Grinage

William Chorneau

Kevin Cantu

A motion was made by Ginale Harris, seconded by Regina Jackson, to approve the twostep reorganization process submitted by the Personnel Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A motion was made by Ginale Harris, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to suspend the rules of procedure and take items VIII and IX ahead of item VII and then to proceed to the rest of the agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

VII. Measure LL Ballot Measure Initiative

The Commission provided an update on the status of the ballot measure regarding changes to Measure LL.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Larry White

Michael Tigges

Cathy Leonard

Rashidah Grinage

Assata Olugbala

No action was taken on this item.

VIII. Ad Hoc Committee Update to OPD Special Order (SO) 9205 on Suspension of the Carotid Use of Restraint (this item was taken after item VI)

The Ad Hoc Committee on SO 9205 that was established at the last meeting on June 25, 2020 presented a revised version of the Special Order.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Larry White

Britt R.

Anne Janks

Michael Tigges

Jennifer Tu

Kevin Cantu

Lorelei Bosserman

Ashley Abraham

Kyle Mitchell

Assata Olugbala

Tasha Mente

Rachel Beck

Megan Steffen

Mariano Contreras

Deron Jenkins

Cathy Leonard

Reisa Jaffe

Terri McWilliams

Bruce Schmiechen

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by Edwin Prather, to approve the Commission's version of SO 9205 for submission to City Council with the following edits: on page 1, in footnote number 1, change "Ibid" to "DGO-KO3 Use of Force;" on page 2 at the end of the first paragraph change "practicable" to "practical;" in the third paragraph on page 2 add the word "physically" before "forcing." The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to extend the meeting until 11:30 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

IX. Use of Force Ad Hoc Committee Public Engagement

The Commission discussed a timeline on public engagement for the Use of Force policy.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Bruce Schmiechen

Anne Janks

Terri McWilliams

Assata Olugbala

No action was taken on this item.

X. Recognition of Edwin Prather

The Commission recognized Edwin Prather's service as a Commissioner.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Anne Janks

Lorelei Bosserman

Larry White

Bruce Schmiechen

Michael Tigges

Rashidah Grinage

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Regina Jackson, to extend the meeting 20 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

XI. Path to Justice Pledge

The Commission discussed the Path to Justice Pledge and voted on having the Chair write a letter of support.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

7.9.20 Minutes Page 4

Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Regina Jackson, to adopt the Path to Justice Pledge and have the Chair write a letter of support. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: Gage, Jackson, and Prather

No: 0

Abstain: Harris and Smith

XII. Meeting Minutes Approval and Amendment to Minutes from September 13, 2018

The Commission voted to approve minutes from May 14 and 28, and June 8, 11, and 18, 2020.

No public comments were provided on this item.

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to approve the minutes of May 14, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A second motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to approve the minutes of May 28, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A third motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to approve the minutes of June 8, 2020, with the edit of noting that Edwin Prather attended the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A fourth motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to approve the minutes of June 11, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A fifth motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to approve the minutes of June 18, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, and Prather

No: 0

Abstain: Smith

XIII. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items

The Commission engaged in a working session to discuss and determine agenda items for the upcoming Commission meeting: a timeline for public engagement on the Use of Force policy; status of the ballot measure for updates to Measure LL; and amendment to minutes from September 13, 2018.

No public comments were provided on this item.

No action was taken on this item.

XIV. Adjournment

A motion was made by Regina Jackson, seconded by Ginale Harris to adjourn the meeting at 11:54 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0