

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL June 11, 2020 5:30 PM

I. Call to Order Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 5:32 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson, José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Lloyd Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan (arrived during item V)

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy and Nitasha Sawhney

III. Public Comment on Closed Session Items No public comments were provided on this item.

The Commission adjourned to closed session. The open session section of the meeting commenced at 6:30 pm.

IV. Closed Session Closed Session CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL— ANTICIPATED LITIGATION: 1 CASE - Govt. Code § 54956.9(d)(2)

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE EVALUATION – CPRA EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

V. Report out of Closed Session CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL— ANTICIPATED LITIGATION: 1 CASE - Govt. Code § 54956.9(d)(2)

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE EVALUATION - CPRA EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

There were no reportable actions on this item.

VI. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum/Public Comment

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Annie Rice Dunken Spencer Lopez Alan Erica Hruby Lorelei Bosserman

Bruce Schmiechen Theresa Johns Leilani Salvador Michele Lazaneo Ryan Bealer Cherri Murphy Linda Leisure Annie Banks Megan Steffan Ashley Greenwood Cat Brooks Rebecca Ruiz April (no last name given) Melissa Jerty Nico (no last name given) Zoey (no last name given) Tova (no last name given) Jessica Lehman Michael Selden Susan Beatty Samantha Rogers Lee Staub Arna Ayon Speaker identified as Turbo Granny Cherry (no last name given) Daniel Robelo Ashley (no last name given) Brianna Gaddy Katerina Moreno Minxy Lopez Lauren Sheruli Hannah Geitner Audra (no last name given) Meredith Malnick Selam Habteab Zachary (no last name given) Nsomeka (no last name given) Cathy Leonard Justin Sider Sarah Grieb Assata Olugbala **Carol Regalbuto** Caitlyn Tulloch **Tony DeLong** Jennifer Tu Jameson Reeves

Reisa Jaffe Michael Tigges Nancy Nadel Kristoff Christoph Sarah Cadorette Alexander Nigro Mel Bell **Evelyn Hunter** Maureen Benson Zitel Anyeneh Molly Wickson Theresa Lee Unknown speaker **Emily Park** Mich Levy **Phoebe Sanders**

VII. Update from Interim Police Chief

OPD Interim Chief Manheimer provided an update on Department activities including crime statistics.

No action was taken on this item.

VIII. Mobile Assistance Community Responders of Oakland (MACRO) Report

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to have Mr. Harris answer questions regarding representations that his process is flawed and he has not included appropriate stakeholders and if that is the case that he will go back and properly include them in order to complete the report. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

David Harris from Urban Strategies discussed his process for including feedback from community groups in preparing a report which will be presented at a future meeting.

A second motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by José Dorado, to table the item and re-agendize to a future meeting to allow Mr. Harris to present a full draft that the Commission has received by e-mail. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Edwin Prather, to table item IX to a future agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

6.11.20 Minutes Page 3

No: 0

Ginale Harris left the meeting at approximately 9:40 pm.

IX.Commission and CPRA Audits (this item was tabled to a future agenda)No public comments were provided on this item.

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by José Dorado, to extend the meeting to 10:45 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

Regina Jackson called for comments on item VIII. Comments were provided by the following public speakers: **Bella Cooper** Cairo Mo Phi Tran Michael Tigges Rashidah Grinage Lorelei Bosserman Julia Hedig Reisa Jaffe Speaker identified as MPH Assata Olugbala Cathy Leonard Kevin Cantu Laura Redmond John Lindsay-Poland Omar (no last name given) Julia Baca Andrew Morales Ashley Greenwood Felicity (no last name given) Elizabeth Abundis Jana Swartzman

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by José Dorado, to extend the meeting to 11:20 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

Regina Jackson called for comments on item VII. Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Megan Stefan Cathy Leonard Michael Tigges John Lindsay-Poland Laura Redmond Mariano Contreras Ashley Greenwood Assata Olugbala Julia Baca

X. Budget Discussion – Commission, CPRA, and OPD

The Commission discussed the proposed Commission, CPRA, and OPD mid-cycle budgets that are included in the City's comprehensive budget.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Oman (no last name given) Assata Olugbala Kevin Cantu John Lindsay-Poland Ashley Greenwood Laura Redmond Reisa Jaffe Julia Hedig Speaker identified as MPH

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to table items XI, XII, XIII, XIV, XV, and XVI to a future agenda. No vote was taken on this motion.

- XI.Measure LL Ballot Measure Initiative (this item was tabled to a future agenda)Comments were provided by the following public speakers:Michael Tigges
- XII.Property Damage Report (this item was tabled to a future agenda)No public comments were provided on this item.
- XIII.Path to Justice Pledge (this item was tabled to a future agenda)No public comments were provided on this item.
- XIV. Committee Reports (this item was tabled to a future agenda) Comments were provided by the following public speakers: John Lindsay-Poland
- XV. Meeting Minutes Approval and Amendment to Minutes from September 13, 2018 (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XVI. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Laura Redmond Julia Baca Bella Cooper Cairo Mo

XVII. Adjournment

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by Regina Jackson, to adjourn the meeting at 11:40 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0