

# **OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION**

# **MEETING MINUTES - FINAL**

#### May 23, 2019 6:30 PM City Council Chamber, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Oakland, CA 94612

# I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 6:36 p.m.

# II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Mubarak Ahmad, José Dorado, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown

Commissioners Excused: Tara Anderson

Counsel for this meeting: Sergio Rudin

## III. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Bruce Schmiechen Henry Gage, III Saleem Bey Mary Vail Maureen Benson Lorelei Bosserman

## IV. Pawlik Investigation Update

The Commission discussed CPRA's recently completed Pawlik investigation.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Rashidah Grinage Henry Gage, III Bruce Schmiechen Oscar Fuentes Mary Vail Maureen Benson A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Ginale Harris, to accept the CPRA report on the Pawlik investigation. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye: Jackson and Prather No: Dorado and Harris Abstained: Ahmad and Smith

#### V. Review of CPRA and Commission Budgets

The Commission reviewed the budgets for CPRA and the Police Commission and discussed the recent meeting with the Finance Department staff.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Rashidah Grinage Mary Vail Henry Gage, III Bruce Schmiechen Saleem Bey

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to submit a budget proposal of \$2,000,000 to the City Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, and Prather No: 0 Abstained: Smith

#### VI. Submission of Candidate for CPRA Interim Executive Director

The Commission voted to approve submission of Mike Nisperos to the City Administrator for consideration to serve as Interim Executive Director of the Community Police Review Agency (CPRA).

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Henry Gage, III Saleem Bey

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Ginale Harris, to approve the submission of Mike Nisperos to serve as Interim Executive Director of CPRA. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

# IX. Crisis Assistance Helping Out on the Streets (CAHOOTS) of Oregon Presentation *(this item was taken out of order)*

The Commission discussed exploring whether CAHOOTS, which is praised by the community, police, fire, and city administration as an effective, compassionate, and money saving program, would be beneficial in Oakland.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Elise Bernstein Rashidah Grinage Reisa Jaffe Saleem Bey Bruce Schmiechen

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to draft and send a letter to the City Council stating that the Commission endorses efforts within the Council to fund a study on how Oakland might implement and benefit from a program based on Eugene's (OR) CAHOOTS program. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

#### VII. Public Hearing on OPD Budget

OPD staff presented the Department's budget for the Commission to review. The Commission also conducted a public hearing on the budget per City Charter Section 604(b)(7).

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Reisa Jaffe Mary Vail Bruce Schmiechen Lorelei Bosserman Rashidah Grinage Maureen Benson Henry Gage, III Oscar Fuentes Cathy Leonard

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Regina Jackson, to extend the meeting for 30 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, and Prather No: Smith

No motion was made on this item.

#### VIII. Rules of Order Addition – Rule 2.19

The Commission discussed a potential amendment to the Rules of Order. New Rule 2.19 would create a procedure around the Commission's Chief of Police For Cause Assessment.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Rashidah Grinage Saleem Bey A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by José Dorado, to adopt Rule 2.19 Chief of Police For Cause Assessment as drafted in Agenda attachment eight. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

# X. Report from Ad Hoc Committee on CPRA Appellate Process

The Ad Hoc Committee on CPRA Appellate Process presented its on-going analysis on a potential appellate process for closed CPRA and/or CPRB cases.

Commissioner Smith stepped out and during that time Chair Regina Jackson designated Alternate Commissioner Chris Brown as a voting member. Shortly thereafafter, Commissioner Smith returned.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Henry Gage, III

No motion was made on this item.

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Regina Jackson, to table items XII, XIII, XIV, XV, and XVI to the next agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0

- XI. Recess (this item did not occur)
- XII.Pro Bono Legal Services Agreement (this item was tabled to the next agenda)No public comments were provided on this item.
- XIII.Commission Letter to City Council Regarding OPD Contract with Michael Palmertree (this<br/>item was tabled to the next agenda)<br/>No public comments were provided on this item.
- XIV. Committee/Liaison/Other Commissioner Reports (this item was tabled to the next agenda) No public comments were provided on this item.
- XV.National Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement (NACOLE) Annual<br/>Conference (this item was tabled to the next agenda)<br/>No public comments were provided on this item.
- XVI. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items (this item was tabled to the next agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

# XVII. Adjournment

A motion was made by Regina Jackson, seconded by Thomas Smith, to adjourn the meeting at 11:43 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0