

# **OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION**

# **SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL**

May 13, 2021 5:30 PM

The purpose of the Oakland Police Commission is to oversee the Oakland Police Department's (OPD) policies, practices, and customs to meet or exceed national standards of constitutional policing, and to oversee the Community Police Review Agency (CPRA) which investigates police misconduct and recommends discipline.

#### I. Call to Order, Welcome, Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Henry Gage, III, Sergio Garcia, Brenda Harbin-Forte (arrived during item III), Regina Jackson, David Jordan (arrived during item II), and Tyfahra Milele. Chair Jackson promoted Marsha Peterson to be a voting member in order to establish quorum. Quorum was met.

Commissioners Excused: José Dorado

Alternate Commissioners Present: Marsha Peterson

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

The meeting began at 5:30 pm.

#### II. Public Comment on Closed Session Items

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Assata Olugbala

The Commission adjourned to closed session. The open session portion of the meeting commenced at 8:07 pm.

### III. Closed Session

CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL – ANTICIPATED LITIGATION Government Code Section 54956.9(d)(1)

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE DISCIPLINE/DISMISSAL/RELEASE (Government Code Section 54957(b))

**Chair Regina Jackson took another Roll Call** 

Commissioners Present: Henry Gage, III, Sergio Garcia, Brenda Harbin-Forte, Regina Jackson, David Jordan, and Tyfahra Milele. Quorum was met.

Commissioners Excused: José Dorado

#### **Alternate Commissioners Present: Marsha Peterson**

### **Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy**

### IV. Report out of Closed Session

There were no reportable actions taken.

### V. Open Forum Part 1

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Michele Lazaneo

Speaker did not identify themselves

Allene Warren

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Regina Jackson, to suspend the rules to reorganize the agenda and table items X, XI, XII, XIII, XVI, and XVII to a future agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Jordan, and Milele

No: 0

### VI. Update from Police Chief

OPD Chief Armstrong provided an update on the Department.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Reisa Jaffe

Assata Olugbala

Michele Lazaneo

Speaker did not identify themselves

John Bey

Saleem Bey

Ginale Harris

No action was taken on this item.

#### VII. Neighborhood Services Presentation to the Oakland Police Commission

Joe DeVries, Director of Interdepartmental Operations, delivered a presentation on Neighborhood Services.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Saleem Bey

Assata Olugbala

John Bev

Ginale Harris

Mary Forte

Elise Bernstein

No action was taken on this item.

# VIII. Office of the City Attorney's Report Regarding Support for the Police-Discipline Process and Recent Arbitration Decisions

Ryan Richardson from the Office of the City Attorney (OCA) presented a report which summarizes recent efforts by the OCA to help improve the police discipline and data on arbitration decisions.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey Rashidah Grinage John Bey

No action was taken on this item.

# IX. Supplemental Formal Request for Commissioner Access to Personnel Information Supplementing the March 25, 2021 Commission approval of a request for certain personnel

information in further of its policymaking authority under the Charter, the Commission considered approving a formal request for certain confidential personnel records.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey
John Bey

A motion was made by Tyfahra Milele, seconded by Regina Jackson, to ask counsel to move forward with a formal request. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Jordan, and Milele

No: 0

# X. Police Commission Code of Conduct Policy (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Reisa Jaffe Saleem Bey

### XI. Prioritization of OPD Policies for Review (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Saleem Bey Anne Janks

Ginale Harris

Assata Olugbala

Brenda Harbin-Forte left the meeting at 10:30 pm.

A motion was made by David Jordan, seconded by Sergio Garcia, to extend the meeting 11:00 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Garcia, Jackson, Jordan, and Milele

No: 0

# XII. Recommendations for Community Engagement (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Saleem Bey Ginale Harris Mariano Contreras Assata Olugbala

## XIII. Meeting Minutes Approval (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

### **XIV.** Committee Reports

Representatives from Standing and Ad Hoc Committees provided updates on their work.

# Community Resource Officer Deployment OPD 15-01 (Commissioners Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Jackson)

The Committee will be formulating a plan to coordinate community involvement.

# Military Police Equipment (Commissioners Gage, Garcia, Jordan)

The Reimagining Public Safety Task Force recommendations included language which recommends adoption of the Commission's proposed controlled equipment ordinance to phase out and replace the BearCat. The City Attorney's office is currently reviewing.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Ginale Harris

Saleem Bey

No action was taken on this item.

#### XV. Open Forum Part 2

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Saleem Bey

Rashidah Grinage

# XVI. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Saleem Bey

Reisa Jaffe Ginale Harris

# XVII. Adjournment

A motion was made by Regina Jackson, seconded by Sergio Garcia, to adjourn the meeting at 11:03 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Garcia, Jackson, Jordan, and Milele

No: 0