

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL

February 27, 2020 5:30 PM

City Council Chamber, 3rd Floor 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Oakland, CA 94612

I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 5:30 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson, José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Lloyd Smith (*arrived during item III*). Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan (both arrived during item IV)

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

III. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Michele Lazaneo

Carol Wyatt

Susan Molloy

Mark Bennett

Amanita LeMon

Etta Johnson

Linda Kincaid

Nino Parker

Maria Pinlehasov

Helena Wong

IV. Public Comment on Closed Session Items

No public comments were provided on this item.

The Commission adjourned to closed session in City Hall Building Bridges room. The open session section of the meeting commenced at 6:38 pm.

V. Closed Session

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE DISCIPLINE/DISMISSAL/RELEASE - Gov't Code § 54957(b)

VI. Determinations of Closed Session

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE DISCIPLINE/DISMISSAL/RELEASE - Gov't Code § 54957(b)

There were no reportable actions on this item.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Cathy Leonard

Mary Vail

Anne Janks

David Benjamin

Lorelei Bosserman

Maureen Benson

Cat Brooks

Saleem Bey

Earl Johson

John Jones, III

Pamela Price

Reisa Jaffe

Rashidah Grinage

Jane Kramer

Gene Hazard

Doug Blacksher

VII. Committee Reports

Representatives from Standing and Ad Hoc Committees provided updates on their work. **Outreach** – the Community Policing Advisory Board will be presenting a Neighborhood Council Leadership Forum in the Spring; there will be a community forum at an Oakland Unified School District location some time this year; there will be Town Hall events on OPD's Use of Force policy on March 6th and March 21st; **Use of Force** – the Commission approved Special Order (SO) 9202 which revises SO 9196 and permits officers to report "type 32" incidents over the police radio and in supplemental reports, where the department will log them; the Use of Force Ad Hoc Committee has selected May, 2020 as a deadline for completing a report on their work; **Equipment** – the Ad Hoc Committee is working on a draft to be presented at a future meeting; **Rules of Procedure** – the Ad Hoc Committee is preparing a Code of Conduct to be presented at a future meeting.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Rashidah Grinage

Saleem Bev

John Lindsay-Poland

Kyle McCoy

Assata Olugbala

Nino Parker

Oscar Fuentes

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Henry Gage, III to consider the matter of approving SO 9202 to be an urgent matter. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A second motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to approve SO 9202. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

VIII. Outreach Services for CPRA

The Commission discussed seeking a provider of outreach services for CPRA. Executive Director John Alden and Alternate Commissioner David Jordan provided details on a proposed scope of services and estimated cost. The Commission voted to select a sole-source provider.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Rashidah Grinage

Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Ginale Harris, to select Gianina Irlando to provide outreach services for CPRA. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

IX. OPD Overtime Report

OPD Deputy Chief LeRonne Armstrong discussed the overtime report that will be presented to the City Council's Finance and Management Committee.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Cathy Leonard

Jane Kramer

Oscar Fuentes

Reisa Jaffe

Kyle McCoy

Assata Olugbala

Saleem Bey

Gene Hazard

Nino Parker

No action was taken on this item.

X. Civil Service Board and Other Relevant City Personnel Policies and Procedures

City of Oakland Human Resources Director Ian Appleyard delivered a training on Civil Service Board and Other Relevant City Personnel Policies and Procedures as mandated by City Charter section 604 (c)(9) and Enabling Ordinance section 2.45.190.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Gene Hazard Assata Olugbala Kyle McCoy Nino Parker

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to extend the meeting by 15 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, and Jackson

No: Prather and Smith

Abstain: Harris

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by José Dorado, to table items XI, XII, XIII, XIV, and XV to a future agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

XI. Report on and Review of CPRA Pending Cases, Completed Investigations, Staffing, and Recent Activities (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey

XII. Review of Current Police Commission Standing and Ad Hoc Committee Assignments (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey

Anne Janks

XIII. Meeting Minutes Approval (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XIV. Liaison/Other Commissioner Reports (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Nino Parker

XV. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XVI. Adjournment

A motion was made by Ginale Harris, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to adjourn the meeting at 10:45 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0