

## CITY OF OAKLAND OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION

## **Meeting Minutes**

# Thursday, February 14, 2019

6:30 PM City Hall, 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Council Chamber Oakland, CA 94612

## I. Call to Order

Thomas Lloyd Smith

The meeting started at 6:31 p.m.

## II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Thomas Lloyd Smith

Commissioners Present: Mubarak Ahmad, Maureen Benson, José Dorado, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Smith. Quorum was met.

Counsel for this meeting: Sergio Rudin

## III. Welcome, Purpose and Open Forum (2 minutes per speaker)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Rashidah Grinage Oscar Fuentes Lorelei Bosserman Cathy Leonard Bruce Schmiechen Pamela Drake John Bey Saleem Bey

### IV. Meeting Minutes Approval

The Commission will vote to approve meeting minutes from January 10 and 24, 2019.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: No public comment.

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Jose Dorado, to approve the January 10, 2019 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Ahmad, Dorado, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith Abstain: Benson

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Jose Dorado, to approve the January 24, 2019 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith Abstain: Ahmad and Benson

#### V. Election of Oakland Police Commission Chairperson

The Commission will nominate and vote on the appointment of a Chairperson to serve from February 2019 until the first regular meeting of January 2020. The Commission will also discuss and vote on the role and duties of the Chairperson.

Nominations for Chairperson: Edwin Prather nominated Regina Jackson (Accepted) Jose Dorado nominated Ginale Harris (Accepted)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey John Bey Cathy Leonard Rashidah Grinage

The vote for Chairperson was as follows: Jackson – Aye: 4; Harris – Aye: 3. Ahmad (Jackson), Benson (Harris) Dorado (Harris), Harris (Harris), Jackson (Jackson), Prather (Jackson), and Smith (Jackson). Regina Jackson was elected as the new Chairperson and took command.

#### VI. Election of Oakland Police Commission Vice Chairperson

The Commission will nominate and vote on the appointment of a Vice Chairperson to serve from February 2019 until the first regular meeting of January 2020. The Commission will also discuss and vote on the role and duties of the Vice Chairperson.

Nominations for Vice Chairperson: Edwin Prather nominated Maureen Benson (Declined) Thomas Smith nominated Jose Dorado (Declined) Regina Jackson nominated Ginale Harris (Declined) Ginale Harris nominated Mubarak Ahmad (Declined) Thomas Smith nominated Edwin Prather (Accepted)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Rashidah Grinage Cathy Leonard Bruce Schmiechen Nino Parker Henry Gage III Councilmember Noel Gallo

Commissioner Ginale Harris left at 7:53 p.m.

Commissioner Maureen Benson resigned and left at 8:08 p.m.

Edwin Prather withdrew his acceptance for nomination; he doesn't mind doing the work without the title.

A motion was made by Jose Dorado, seconded by Thomas Smith, to table this Item until the next meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Ahmad, Dorado, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

#### VII. Reimbursement of Expenses for Proclamation for former Alternate Commissioner Andrea Dooley

The Commission will vote on allocating funds to reimburse Commissioner Benson for a proclamation for former Alternate Commissioner Andrea Dooley.

Comments were provided by the following public speaker: Nino Parker

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Jose Dorado, to reimburse whoever paid the amount of \$393.00 for the Proclamation (he believes it is Commissioner Benson). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Ahmad, Dorado, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

#### VIII. Recess (8 Minutes)

#### IX. Personnel Standing Committee Update

The Personnel Standing Committee will provide an update of their inaugural meeting on February 4, 2019 which may include action items for the Commission.

Chair Jackson gave an update (since Commissioners Benson and Harris not present). She did not have information on the ED search. Interim Director Tom is out and will be back in advance before the next Committee meeting.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Rashidah Grinage

#### X. Ad Hoc Committees Update

The following Ad Hoc Committees will provide updates on their work which may include action items for the Commission. Budget; OPD Police Chief's Goals for Annual Performance Evaluation; Probation and Parole Policy DGO R-02; Public Hearing on Policing and the Homeless; Task Force/Summit on Community Policing.

Budget - no report since Commissioners Benson and Harris are not present. A report will be due later.

Chair Jackson said she worked minimally on the OPD Police Chief's Goals for Annual Performance Evaluation; primarily worked on by Commissioners Benson and Harris and they are not present. A report will be due later.

Chair Jackson did work on the Probation and Parole Policy DGO-R-02 but deferred to Edwin Prather and he gave a report (draft back from OPD in about a week).

Thomas Smith reported that there will be an upcoming public hearing on policing and the homeless on February 16<sup>th</sup>; it is a special meeting for the Commission (he confirmed five Commissioners who will attend to meet quorum).

Jose Dorado gave a report on the Task Force/Summit on Community Policing. This Item will be agendized for the next meeting (update).

At the last meeting Chair Jackson requested a Summit on racial profiling (June/July); commenced working on it with Mubarak Ahmad.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Anne Janks

Rashidah Grinage Oscar Fuentes

### XI. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items

The Commission will engage in a working session to discuss and determine agenda items for the upcoming Commission meeting and to agree on a list of agenda items to be discussed on future agendas.

Joshua Pawlik Quarterly Report (Draft Update) Unfreezing the Investigators Role Update – Committee Staffing Legal Opinion for two Vice Chairpersons

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Henry Gage III Rashidah Grinage Lorelei Bosserman

#### XII. Adjournment

A motion was made by Jose Dorado, seconded by Edwin Prather, to adjourn. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Ahmad, Dorado, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

The Commission adjourned the meeting at 9:14 p.m.