

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL

February 13, 2020 5:30 PM

City Council Chamber, 3rd Floor 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Oakland, CA 94612

I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 5:36 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson (*arrived during item IV*), José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Lloyd Smith (*arrived during item IV*). Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan (both arrived during item IV)

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

III. Public Comment on Closed Session Items

No public comments were provided on this item.

The Commission adjourned to closed session in City Hall Building Bridges room. The open session section of the meeting commenced at 7:44 pm.

IV. Closed Session

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE DISCIPLINE/DISMISSAL/RELEASE - Gov't Code § 54957(b)

V. Determinations of Closed Session

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE DISCIPLINE/DISMISSAL/RELEASE - Gov't Code § 54957(b)

There were no reportable actions on this item.

Chair Regina Jackson took another Roll Call

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson, José Dorado, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

VI. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Dominique Walker Gabriel Garcia Michele Lazaneo Paula Hawthorne Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey John Lindsay-Poland Bruce Schmiechen Nino Parker

VII. Election of Oakland Police Commission Chairperson

The Commission nominated and voted on the appointment of a Chairperson to serve from February 2020 until the next election in February 2021.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Maureen Benson Saleem Bey Nicole Fairley

A motion was made by Tara Anderson, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to nominate Regina Jackson to serve as Chair.

A second motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Ginale Harris, to nominate Ginale Harris to serve as Chair.

A vote was taken on the first motion to nominate Regina Jackson to serve as Chair and the motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: Dorado and Harris

No vote was recorded for the second motion.

VIII. Election of Oakland Police Commission Vice Chairperson

The Commission nominated and voted on the appointment of a Vice Chairperson to serve from February 2020 until the next election in February 2021.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to nominate Henry Gage, III to serve as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: Dorado and Harris

IX. Report from National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform (NICJR) on Next Steps with Pilot Juvenile Diversion Program

OPD Deputy Chief LaRonne Armstrong discussed next steps in the Pilot Juvenile Diversion Program as they relate to the District Attorney, County Probation Department, and OPD. OPD also presented an updated letter of support for the National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform's Proposed Pilot Juvenile Diversion Program.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Jane Kramer Rashidah Grinage Saleem Bey

No action was taken on this item.

X. Public Engagement with Use of Force Ad Hoc Committee

The Commission discussed a variety of opportunities for thought leadership on policy development.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Rashidah Grinage

Oscar Fuentes

Saleem Bey

Gabriel Garcia

Jane Kramer

Cathy Leonard

Maureen Benson

No action was taken on this item.

Ginale Harris left the meeting at 10:02 pm.

XI. OPD Report Regarding 65th Independent Monitor's Report

OPD Deputy Chief LaRonne Armstrong and Acting Captain Peter Lau gave a report regarding which recommendations from the Independent Monitor's Report have been adopted and implemented.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey

Assata Olugbala

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by José Dorado, to extend the meeting by 15 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by José Dorado, to table items XII, XIII, XIV, XV, XVI, and XVII to a future agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith

No: 0

XII. Draft Ordinance on Military Police Equipment (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Wilson Riles Mike Chase John Lindsay-Poland Saleem Bey Nino Parker

XIII. Outreach Services for CPRA (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XIV. Creation of Ad Hoc Committee to Develop a Process for Drafting Policy (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XV. Meeting Minutes Approval (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XVI. Committee/Liaison/Other Commissioner Reports (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XVII. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

No public comments were provided on this item.

XVIII. Adjournment

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to adjourn the meeting at 11:05 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Gage, Jackson, Prather and Smith

No: 0