

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL February 11, 2021 5:30 PM

I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting began at 5:33 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Sergio Garcia, Brenda Harbin-Forte, Regina Jackson, and Tyfahra Singleton. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: David Jordan and Marsha Peterson (both arrived during item VI)

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

III. Public Comment on Closed Session Items

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Rachel Beck Jennifer Tu Charlotte Ashlock Megan Steffen Assata Olugbala Speaker did not identify themselves Jasmine Fallstich

The Commission adjourned to closed session. The open session section of the meeting commenced at 6:31 pm.

IV. Closed Session

CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL – EXISTING LITIGATION: 1 CASE – Govt. Code § 54956.9(d)(1)

Name of Case: Sacks v. City of Oakland, Case No. RG 20078708 (Alameda Superior)(Filed 10/19/2020)

V. Report out of Closed Session

There were no reportable actions taken.

VI. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Kristine Wyndham Jasmine Fallstich Steven Jeram Kevin Cantu Joseph Mente Jennifer Tu Maria Navarro Gabriel Garcia Laura Wesley **Rachel Beck** Ann Whidden Michele Lazaneo Tasha Mente Assata Olugbala Sameena Usman Maria Saleem Bey William Palmer John Lindsay-Poland Megan Steffen Cathy Leonard Margaret Mayer-Hoffer **Ericson** Amaya Humberto Amelah El Amin **Kiana Rodriguez** Courtney Omar Farmer **Christopher Valentine** Anne Janks Marc Pillisuk

VII. Welcome New Alternate Commissioner – Marsha Peterson

The Commission welcomed and introduced Marsha Peterson as a member of the Police Commission.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Kevin Cantu Saleem Bey Cathy Leonard Jennifer Tu

No action was taken on this item.

VIII. Election of Oakland Police Commission Chairperson

The Commission nominated and voted on the appointment of a Chairperson to serve from February 2021 until the next election in February 2022.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Bruce Schmiechen Cathy Leonard Michael Tigges Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey Speaker did not identify themselves Mariano Contreras

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by José Dorado, to nominate Regina Jackson to serve another term as Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Singleton No: 0

IX. Election of Oakland Police Commission Vice Chairperson

The Commission nominated and voted on the appointment of a Vice Chairperson to serve from February 2021 until the next election in February 2022.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Michael Tigges Bruce Schmiechen Cathy Leonard Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by Regina Jackson, seconded by Sergio Garcia, to nominate José Dorado to serve as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Singleton No: 0

X. Welcome Oakland Police Chief LeRonne Armstrong and Update from Police Chief

The Commission welcomed and introduced Oakland's new Chief of Police LeRonne Armstrong. Chief Armstrong provided an update on the Department including policy priorities.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Jennifer Tu Cathy Leonard Bruce Schmiechen Lorelei Bosserman

Rashidah Grinage Joseph Mente Michele Lazaneo Megan Steffen **Michael Tigges** Reisa Jaffe Assata Olugbala John Lindsay-Poland Jasmine Fallstich Amelah El Amin **Omar Farmer** Kevin Cantu Humberto Saleem Bey Mariano Contreras Salah Elbakri Christopher Valentine

No action was taken on this item.

XI. Military Equipment Training Bulletin Draft

The Commission discussed the draft training bulletin that the Militarized Police Equipment Ad Hoc Committee developed and voted to approve the draft.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Tom Baker Joseph Mente John Lindsay-Poland Jennifer Tu Maria Navarro Reisa Jaffe Mariano Contreras Kevin Cantu Sameena Usman Cathy Leonard Assata Olugbala Tasha Mente Anne Janks Megan Steffen Jasmine Fallstich Salah Elbakri Saleem Bey

Omar Farmer

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Regina Jackson, to adopt the version of the training bulletin as put forth by the Militarized Police Equipment Ad Hoc Committee. The initial vote resulted in a tie:

Aye: Gage, Harbin-Forte, and Jackson No: Dorado, Garcia, and Singleton

Chair Jackson promoted David Jordan as a voting member to cast a tie-breaking vote and to remain a voting member for the remainder of the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Jordan No: Dorado, Garcia, and Singleton

A second motion was made by David Jordan, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to have the Militarized Police Equipment Ad Hoc Committee meet a final time to develop a resolution calling for the sunsetting of the BearCat and to determine what the requirements are. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Jordan, and Singleton No: 0

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by José Dorado, to extend the meeting one hour. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Jordan, and Singleton No: 0

Tyfahra Singleton left the meeting at 11:00 pm.

XII.Resolution for Parity in the Administration of COVID-19 Vaccinations for Front Line
Public Safety Workers

The Commission discussed, and voted to approve, a resolution calling for parity in the administration of COVID-19 vaccinations for front line public safety workers.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Jim Chanin Anne Janks Joseph Mente Jennifer Tu Saleem Bey Megan Steffen A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to approve the resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Jordan No: 0

XIII. Meeting Minutes Approval

The Commission voted to approve minutes from January 28 and 30, 2021.

No public comments were provided on this item.

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to approve the January 28, 2021 minutes with the following edit: replace "been completed" with "begun" under item XII. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Jordan No: 0

A second motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to approve the January 30, 2021 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Jordan No: 0

XIV. Committee Reports

The Commission discussed Committee membership and Chair Jackson created two Ad Hoc Committees:

IAD Manual – Gage, Jackson, and Jordan Police Chief Goals and Evaluation – Garcia, Peterson, and Singleton

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Megan Steffen Joseph Mente Saleem Bey Assata Olugbala Speaker did not identify themselves

No action was taken on this item.

XV. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items

The Commission engaged in a working session to discuss and determine agenda items for the upcoming meeting: a resolution regarding sunsetting the BearCat, an action plan from the retreat, and a draft of the Rules of Order.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Anne Janks Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey

No action was taken on this item.

XVI. Adjournment

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Sergio Garcia, to adjourn the meeting at 11:26 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Jordan No: 0