

# OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION

## **MEETING MINUTES - FINAL**

December 10, 2020 6:30 PM

#### I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting began at 6:32 pm.

#### II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Sergio Garcia, Brenda Harbin-Forte,

Regina Jackson, Tyfahra Singleton, and Thomas Lloyd Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: David Jordan

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

## III. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Assata Olugbala

Michele Lazaneo

John Bey

Saleem Bey

Reisa Jaffe

#### IV. Update from Interim Police Chief

OPD Interim Chief Manheimer provided an update on Department activities including crime statistics.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Lorelei Bosserman

Joseph Mente

Rachel Beck

John Bey

Assata Olugbala

Reisa Jaffe

Jasmine Fallstich

Megan Steffen

Saleem Bev

Michele Lazaneo

Speaker did not identify themselves

No action was taken on this item.

### V. Reimagining Public Safety Task Force Update

Former Commissioner Ginale Harris shared an update on the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Megan Steffen Bruce Schmiechen Joseph Mente John Bey Assata Olugbala Tasha Mente Jasmine Fallstich Anne Janks Saleem Bey

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by Regina Jackson, to 1) put together a letter that communicates to the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force that the Police Commission wants access for the Commission's representative Ginale Harris to the decision making meetings that the Commission identifies so that she can actually be a full participant, and 2) that Chair Jackson deliver the message by e-mail and in person so that the Police Commission can get a full briefing of what's going on in order to be included in the decision making process. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

#### VI. Commission Retreat

The Commission discussed the proposals submitted by two potential facilitators and voted to proceed with Leadership Incorporated.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Saleem Bey

Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by Tyfahra Singleton, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to select Blaze Consulting Group to facilitate the retreat. The motion failed to carry by the following vote:

Aye: Singleton

No: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, and Jackson

Abstain: Smith

A second motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by José Dorado, to proceed with Leadership Incorporated to conduct a retreat for the Commission with a not to exceed amount of \$10,500. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

A third motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to approve Resolution 20-05 with edits to be provided by John Alden. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to extend the meeting by 30 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

#### VII. Review of OPD Policy 15-01 Community Resource Officer Deployment (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Assata Olugbala Megan Steffen John Bey Saleem Bey

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to table this item to allow the Ad Hoc Committee to work on revisions to the policy. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by José Dorado, to extend the meeting to 11:30 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

#### VIII. Report on and Review of CPRA Pending Cases, Completed Investigations, Staffing, and **Recent Activities**

Executive Director John Alden reported on the Agency's pending cases, completed investigations, staffing, and recent activities.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala

Saleem Bey

No action was taken on this item.

### IX. Meeting Minutes Approval

The Commission voted to approve minutes from November 12, 2020.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Sergio Garcia, to approve the minutes from November 12, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

#### X. Vote to Reschedule Meeting Scheduled for December 24, 2020 to December 17, 2020

The Commission voted to reschedule the second meeting of the month on December 24<sup>th</sup> as it is Christmas Eve to December 17, 2020.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Saleem Bey

Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Sergio Garcia, to reschedule the second meeting of the month from December 24<sup>th</sup> to December 17, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

# XI. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Assata Olugbala

Saleem Bey

A motion was made by Sergio Garcia, seconded by José Dorado, to table this item to a future meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0

#### XII. Adjournment

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by Sergio Garcia, to adjourn the meeting at 11:32 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith

No: 0