

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL

October 22, 2020 5:30 PM

I. Call to Order Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting began at 5:33 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Sergio Garcia, Brenda Harbin-Forte, Regina Jackson, Tyfahra Singleton, and Thomas Lloyd Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Excused: David Jordan

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

III. Public Comment on Closed Session Items

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Gene Hazzard Assata Olugbala

The Commission adjourned to closed session. The open session section of the meeting commenced at 7:07 pm.

IV. Closed Session

CONFERENCE WITH LABOR NEGOTIATOR- Gov. Code section 54957.6(a) Agency designated representative: John Alden

Employee Organization: International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers (IFPTE) Local 21

PUBLIC EMPLOYEES DISCIPLINE/ DISMISSAL/ RELEASE Pursuant to California Government Code Section 54597

V. Report out of Closed Session

There were no reportable actions on this item.

VI. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Michele Lazaneo Speaker did not identify themselves Assata Olugbala Megan Steffen Kevin Cantu Saleem Bey Lorelei Bosserman Rachel Beck

VII. Welcome New Commissioners – Sergio Garcia and Tyfahra Singleton

The Commission welcomed and introduced Sergio Garcia and Tyfahra Singleton as members of the Police Commission.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Reisa Jaffe Kevin Cantu Assata Olugbala Michele Lazaneo Mariano Contreras

No action was taken on this item.

VIII. Update from Interim Police Chief

OPD Interim Chief Manheimer provided an update on Department activities including crime statistics.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Saleem Bey Jasmine Fallstich Michele Lazaneo Megan Steffen Assata Olugbala Jennifer Tu Kevin Cantu Reisa Jaffe

No action was taken on this item.

IX. Presentation from the Department of Violence Prevention

Department of Violence Prevention Chief Guillermo Cespedes, Deputy Director Sarai Crain, and Manager Peter Kim delivered a presentation on department's work and how they collaborate with other departments.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Ms. Bandabaila Lorelei Bosserman Kevin Cantu Speaker did not identify themselves Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey Megan Steffen Bruce Schmiechen Omar Farmer

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by Regina Jackson, to extend the meeting by one hour. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith No: 0

X. Office of the City Attorney's Report Regarding Support for the Police-Discipline Process and Recent Arbitration Decisions Special Counsel Ryan Richardson from the Office of the City Attorney (OCA) presented a report summarizing recent efforts by the OCA to help improve the police discipline process and data on arbitration decisions.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Anne Janks Lorelei Bosserman Rashidah Grinage Assata Olugbala Saleem Bey

No action was taken on this item.

XI. Review of OPD Policy 15-01 Community Resource Officer Deployment The Commission discussed OPD Policy 15-01.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Megan Steffen Assata Olugbala Jasmine Fallstich

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to extend the meeting by 30 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith No: 0

XII. Report on and Review of CPRA Pending Cases, Completed Investigations, Staffing, and Recent Activities

Executive Director John Alden reported on the Agency's pending cases, completed investigations, staffing, and recent activities.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to bring this item back to the next meeting in closed session. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith No: 0

XIII. Meeting Minutes Approval

The Commission voted to approve minutes from October 8 and 15, 2020.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Kevin Cantu

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to approve the minutes of October 8, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith No: 0

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to approve the minutes of October 15, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith No: 0

XIV. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items

The Commission engaged in a working session to discuss and determine agenda items for the upcoming Commission meeting: a closed session on CPRA cases.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Megan Steffen

No action was taken on this item.

XV. Adjournment

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by José Dorado, to adjourn the

meeting at 11:50 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Singleton, and Smith No: 0