

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL January 7, 2021

5:30 PM

I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting began at 5:30 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Sergio Garcia, Brenda Harbin-Forte, Regina Jackson, and Tyfahra Singleton. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: David Jordan

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy and Nitasha Sawhney

III. Public Comment on Closed Session Items

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala

The Commission adjourned to closed session. The open session section of the meeting commenced at 6:34 pm.

IV. Closed Session

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE APPOINTMENT Title: Chief of Police

V. Report out of Closed Session and Action on Closed Session Item

A motion was made by Sergio Garcia, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to approve the submission of four candidates – LeRonne Armstrong, Jason Lando, Drennon Lindsey, and Abdul Pridgen to the Mayor for consideration for the position of Oakland Chief of Police. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Singleton No: 0

No public comments were provided on this item.

Henry Gage, III left the meeting at 6:40 pm.

VI. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Cathy Leonard Michele Lazaneo Assata Olugbala Speaker did not identify themselves

Tyfahra Singleton left the meeting at 7:00 pm.

VII. Recognition of Thomas Lloyd Smith

The Commission recognized Thomas Lloyd Smith for his service on the Commission.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Cathy Leonard Rashidah Grinage Anne Janks Mariano Contreras John Jones, III

No action was taken on this item.

VIII. Armed and Unresponsive Persons Policy Draft

The Commission discussed the draft policy that the Armed and Unresponsive Persons and Arrest Teams Ad Hoc Committee developed and voted to approve the draft.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Anne Janks Ginale Harris Assata Olugbala Rashidah Grinage Cathy Leonard Speaker did not identify themselves Omar Farmer

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to approve the Armed and Unresponsive Persons draft policy. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, and Jackson No: 0

Alternate Commissioner David Jordan was designated as a voting member of the Commission.

IX. Dedicated Arrest Teams (DAT) Policy Draft

The Commission discussed the draft policy that the Armed and Unresponsive Persons and Arrest Teams Hoc Committee developed and voted to approve the draft.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

1.7.20 Minutes Page 2

Bruce Schmiechen Assata Olugbala Mariano Contreras Cathy Leonard

A motion was made by Sergio Garcia, seconded by José Dorado, to approve the Dedicated Arrest Teams (DAT) draft policy. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Jordan No: 0

X. Reimagining Public Safety Task Force Update

The Commission discussed the letter that was sent to the Task Force.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Ginale Harris Assata Olugbala Bruce Schmiechen Michele Lazaneo Gokce Sencan Keisha Henderson John Jones, III Carol Wyatt Cathy Leonard

No action was taken on this item.

XI. Commission Retreat

The Commission discussed details of the upcoming retreat on January 30, 2021.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala

No action was taken on this item.

XII. Adjournment

A motion was made by Sergio Garcia, seconded by José Dorado, to adjourn the meeting at 8:35 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, and Jordan No: 0