

Commissioners: Michael MacDonald (Chair), Jerett Yan (Vice-Chair), Avi Klein, Arvon Perteet, and Joseph Tuman

Commission Staff to attend: Whitney Barazoto, Executive Director; Suzanne Doran, Lead Analyst – Civic Technology and Engagement; Kellie Johnson, Enforcement Chief; Ana Lara-Franco, Commission Assistant; Simon Russell, Investigator

City Attorney Staff: Trish Shafie, Deputy City Attorney

PEC MEETING MINUTES

1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum.

The meeting was held via teleconference.

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m.

Members present: MacDonald, Yan, Klein, Perteet, and Tuman.

Staff present: Suzanne Doran, Kellie Johnson, Ana Lara-Franco and Simon Russell.

City Attorney Staff: Trish Shafie

2. Staff and Commission Announcements.

There were no announcements

3. Open Forum.

There were no public speakers.

ACTION ITEMS

- 4. Approval of Commission Meeting Draft Minutes.
 - a. April 5, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes

There were no public speakers.



Tuman moved, and Klein seconded to adopt the April 5, 2021, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Ayes: MacDonald, Yan, Klein, Perteet, and Tuman.

Noes: None

Vote: Passed 5-0

5. In the Matter of Everett Cleveland Jr. (Case No. 20-03 (a)).

Kellie Johnson, Enforcement Chief, recommended that the PEC approve the Diversion Agreement including a \$600 Diversion payment by Respondent to resolve the violation.

Commissioners discussed the matter and asked questions.

There were five public speakers.

Klein moved, and Tuman seconded to accept the staff recommendation.

Ayes: MacDonald, Yan, Klein, Perteet, and Tuman.

Noes: None

Vote: Passed 5-0

6. In the Matter of Norma Thompson (Case No. 20-03(b)).

Ms. Johnson recommended that the PEC approve the Diversion Agreement with additional conditions, including an \$800 Diversion payment, to resolve the violation.

Commissioners discussed the matter and asked questions.

There were six public speakers.

Klein moved, and Yan seconded to accept the staff recommendation.

Ayes: MacDonald, Yan, Klein, and Perteet.



Noes: Tuman

Vote: Passed 4-1

7. Sunshine Review Subcommittee Progress Report.

MacDonald presented the report and its findings.

There was one public speaker.

MacDonald moved, and Tuman seconded to accept the staff recommendation.

Ayes: MacDonald, Yan, Klein, Perteet, and Tuman.

Noes: None

Vote: Passed 5-0

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 8. Reports on Subcommittees and Commissioner Assignments.
 - **a.** Sunshine Review Subcommittee (*ad hoc*/temporary, created on May 8, 2020) – Michael MacDonald (Chair), Avi Klein, and Joe Tuman

MacDonald dissolved the *ad hoc* subcommittee.

b. Recruitment Subcommittee (*ad hoc*/temporary, created on April 5, 2021) - Michael MacDonald (Chair), Jerett Yan, and Arvon Perteet

MacDonald shared recruitment closes on May 5, 2021.

There were no public speakers.



9. Disclosure and Engagement.

There were no public speakers.

10. Enforcement Program.

There were no public speakers.

11. Executive Director's Report.

There were no public speakers.

The meeting adjourned at 8:55 p.m.

