

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

May 12, 2022 6:30 PM

I. Call to Order, Welcome, Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Tyfahra Milele called the meeting to order at approximately 6:35 p.m. and took roll.

Roll Call:

Present: Chair Tyfahra Milele; Vice Chair Marsha Peterson; Commissioner Brenda Harbin-Forte; Commissioner Rudolph Howell; Commissioner David Jordan; Commissioner Jesse Hsieh;

Commissioner Regina Jackson

Absent: None

II. Adoption of Renewal Resolution Electing to Continue Conducting Meetings Using Teleconferencing in Accordance with California Government Code Section 54953(E), a Provision of AB-361.

After hearing public comment from 2 persons (Cantu; Farmer), Commissioner Jackson made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Hsieh, to adopt the renewal resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 7 - Milele, Peterson, Harbin-Forte, Howell, Hsieh, Jackson, Jordan

Nays: 0

III. Open Forum Part 1

Public comments were made by 4 persons (Beck; Keller; Poland; Atwell.

MODIFICATIONS TO THE CONSENT CALENDAR

No Commissioners requested modifications to the Consent Calendar.

IV. Consent Calendar

VI. (a) Approve Minutes from January 27, February 10 and 24, 2022 Meetings

Commissioner Harbin-Forte made a motion, seconded by Vice Chair Peterson, to approve all consent items. After no public comments were made, the motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 7 - Milele, Peterson, Harbin-Forte, Howell, Hsieh, Jackson, Jordan

Nays: 0

V. Update from Police Chief

Oakland Police Department Police Chief Armstrong provided an update and answered questions from the Commission.

Public comments were made by 9 persons (Stylus; Farmer; Poland; Olugbala; Grinage; Janks; "Jen F."; Leonard; Bey).

VI. Update from the Inspector General's Office

Inspector General Michelle Phillips reported on the Inspector General's Office work and answered questions from the Commission.

Public comment was received from 8 persons (Grinage; Stylus; Olugbala; Farmer; Bey; Janks; Bossaman; Leonard).

VII. Report and Review of CPRA Pending Cases, Completed Investigations, Staffing, and Recent Activities

Interim Executive Director Aaron Zisser reported on CPRA Pending Cases, Completed Investigations, Staffing, and Recent Activities, and introduced his new Chief of Staff Charlotte Jones to the Commission.

Public comment was received from 8 persons (Stylus; Grinage; Olugbala; Bey; Vale; Bernstein; Janks; Cantu).

VIII. Personnel Item Action Resolution: Compensation for Inspector General

The Commission discussed the compensation for the Inspector General.

Commissioner Harbin-Forte made a motion, seconded by Chair Milele, to approve the Resolution: Compensation for Inspector General. After public comments from 1 person (Grinage), the motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 7 - Milele, Peterson, Harbin-Forte, Howell, Hsieh, Jackson, Jordan

Nays: 0

IX. Committee Reports

Before hearing committee reports, Chair Milele announced the formation of three new ad hoc committees and asked for volunteers.

The OIG Policies Ad Hoc Committee members will be Commissioners Jackson, Harbin-Forte, and Peterson.

The Body Worn Cameras Ad Hoc Committee will be Commissioners Hsieh, Peterson, and Harbin-Forte.

The Militarized Equipment Ad Hoc Committee will be Commissioners Jordan and Hsieh.

Community Policing

(Commissioners Harbin-Forte, Howell, Hsieh)

Commissioners Hsieh, Harbin-Forte, and Howell provided an update on the Community Policing Ad Hoc Committee.

Community Outreach

(Commissioners Howell, Hsieh and Jordan)

Commissioners Howell, Hsieh, and Jordan provided an update on the Community Outreach Ad Hoc Committee.

Public comments were made by 3 persons (Olugbala; Vale; Bey).

X.Open Forum Part 2

Public comments were made by 2 persons (Olugbala; Bey).

XI. Upcoming/Future Agenda Items

The Commission discussed and determined agenda items for the upcoming Commission meeting.

Public comments were made by 3 persons (Olugbala; Poland; Bey).

XII. Adjournment

Chair Milele adjourned the meeting at approximately 9:45 p.m.