

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES April 14, 2022 5:30 PM

I. Call to Order, Welcome, Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Tyfahra Milele called the meeting to order at approximately 5:32 p.m. and took roll.

Roll Call:

Present: Chair Tyfahra Milele, Vice Chair Marsha Peterson; Commissioner Brenda Harbin-Forte; Commissioner Rudolph Howell; Commissioner Regina Jackson; Alternate Commissioner Jesse Hsieh. Commissioner David Jordan joined the meeting late.

Absent: None (Commissioner Henry Gage resigned before the meeting date).

II. Adoption of Renewal Resolution Electing to Continue Conducting Meetings Using Teleconferencing in Accordance with California Government Code Section 54953(E), a Provision of AB-361.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Peterson and seconded by Commissioner Jackson to adopt the renewal resolution. Following public comments by 2 persons (Bey; Olugbala), the motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	6 - Milele, Peterson, Harbin-Forte, Howell, Jackson, Jordan
Nays:	0
Excused:	0

III. Closed Session item

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE PERFORMANCE EVALUATION (California Government Code Section 54957(b)) Title: Inspector General

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE PERFORMANCE EVALUATION (California Government Code Section 54957(b)) Title: Interim Executive Director, Community Police Review Agency

Following public comments made by 2 persons (Olugbala; Bey), the Police Commission adjourned to closed session.

IV. Call to Order and Re-Determination of Quorum

Chair Tyfahra Milele called the meeting to order and took roll. Roll Call: Chair Tyfahra Milele, Vice Chair Marsha Peterson; Commissioner Brenda Harbin-Forte; Commissioner Rudolph Howell; Commissioner Regina Jackson, Commissioner David Jordan, Alternate Commissioner Jesse Hsieh Absent: None.

V. Open Forum Part 1

Public comments were made by 2 persons (Grinage; Janks).

VI. Update from Police Chief

Oakland Police Department Chief LeRonne Armstrong and staff members provided an update and answered questions from the Commission.

Public comments were made by 4 persons (Bey; Olugbala; Stylus; Janks).

MODIFICATIONS TO THE CONSENT CALENDAR

No Commissioners requested modifications to the Consent Calendar.

VII. Consent Calendar

V. (a) Approve Minutes From January 13, 2022 Meeting

V. (b) Cancel Thursday April 28, 2022 Meeting

V. (c) Final approval of Annual Report revisions from March 10, 2022 Regular Meeting

Commissioner Jackson made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Harbin-Forte, to approve all consent items. Following public comment from 1 person (Stylus) the motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:6 - Milele, Peterson, Harbin-Forte, Howell, Jackson, JordanNays:0Excused:0

VIII. Update from the Inspector General's Office

Inspector General Michelle Phillips reported on the Inspector General's Office work and answered questions from the Commission.

Public comments were made by 3 persons (Stylus; Grinage; Jaffe).

IX. Consider Approval of Revised Policy for Electronic Communication Devices (DGO R-01)

The Electronic Communication Devices Ad Hoc Committee, consisting of Commissioners Howell (Chair), Harbin-Forte and Peterson, led the discussion on whether to approve the Police Department's revised policy (DGO R-01).

After public comment were made by 2 persons (Grinage; Olugbala), Commissioner Harbin-Forte made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Jackson, to approve the revised policy. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:5 - Milele, Harbin-Forte, Howell, Jackson, JordanNays:0Excused:1- Vice Chair Peterson

X. Selection of Alternate Commissioner to Fill Vacancy

Commissioner Jackson made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Harbin-Forte, to accept Commissioner Henry Gage's resignation and to appoint Alternate Commissioner Jesse Shieh to fill the vacancy. Following public comments made by 5 persons (Grinage; Olugbala; Janks; Bernstein; Contreras) the motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:5 - Milele, Harbin-Forte, Howell, Jackson, JordanNays:0Excused:1 - Vice Chair Peterson

XI. Committee Reports

Before hearing committee reports, Chair Milele announced a new ad hoc committee for selection of a new Commission Chief of Staff, in view of Rania Adwan's upcoming departure. The committee members are Chair Milele and Commissioners Jackson and Jordan.

Chair Milele also announced that the Community Outreach Standing Committee will be converted to an Ad Hoc committee with the following members: Commissioners Howell (Chair), Hsieh, and Jordan.

Community Policing (Commissioners Harbin-Forte, Howell, Hsieh)

Commissioners Hsieh (Chair) Harbin-Forte, and Howell provided an update on the Community Policing Ad Hoc Committee.

No public comments were made.

XII. Open Forum Part 2

Public comments were made by 1 person (Beck).

XIII. Upcoming/Future Agenda Items

The Commission discussed and determined agenda items for the upcoming Commission meeting.

Public comments were made by 1 person (Olugbala).

XIV. Adjournment

Chair Milele adjourned the meeting at approximately 9:05 p.m.